Current Affairs PDF

GK Questions: Honours & Awards – Set 6

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Hello Aspirants. Welcome to Online General Knowledge section in Affairs cloud, which is important for all the competitive exams. We have created Some questions related to Basic GK(Honours & Awards) !!!

  1. The Mahatma Gandhi Peace Prize was instituted in ………………..
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.1995
    Explanation :
    The International Gandhi Peace Prize, named after Mahatma Gandhi, is awarded annually by the Government of India.  As a tribute to the ideals espoused by Gandhi, the Government of India launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th birth anniversary of Mohandas Gandhi.

  2. The Murtidevi award is given for  extra ordinary performance in ……………..
    5.None of these
    Answer – 3.literature
    Explanation :
    The Moortidevi Award is an annual literary award in India presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith organization for a work which emphasizes Indian philosophy and literature

  3. The Translation awards are given by
    1.Sathiya Akademi
    2.Government of India
    3.Sangeet Natak Akademi
    4.Foundation of Bajaj Group
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.Sathiya Akademi
    Explanation :
    Besides the annual awards for creative writing, the Sahitya Akademi has instituted an annual prize for translation from 1989 to be given to outstanding translatio

  4. The Dhyanachand award is India’s highest sports award. It was instituted in
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.2002
    Explanation :
    Dhyan Chand Award is the India’s highest award for lifetime achievement in sports and games, given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.The award is named after the legendary Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand. The award was initiated in 2002

  5. Who refused to accept the Padma Shri award on 1960 ?
    1.Dr. Zakir Hussain
    2.Dr.MG Ramachandran
    3.Rajiv Gandhi
    4.Pandit Ravi Shankar
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.Dr.MG Ramachandran
    Explanation :
    In 1960, MG Ramachandran had also rejected the Padma Shri because it was written only in Devanagari script.

  6. .……………………….received the first Jawaharlal Nehru Award
    1.U Thant
    2.Martin Luther King.
    3.Nelson Mandela
    4.Angela Markel
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.U Thant
    Explanation :
    The Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding is an international award presented by the Government of India in honour of Jawaharlal Nehru, the country’s first prime minister.U Thant from Burma received the first Jawaharlal Nehru Award

  7. Manav Seva Award has been instituted in the memory of ………………..
    2.Mahathma Gandhi
    3.Rajiv Gandhi
    4.Jawaharlal Nehru
    5.None of these
    Answer – 3.Rajiv Gandhi
    Explanation :
    Rajiv Gandhi Manav Seva Award is conferred on three individuals who make outstanding contribution in the field of Child Protection, Child Development or Child Welfare for over ten years.

  8. UNEP established the Global 500 Roll of Honour in 1987 to recognize the
    1.Technology achievements
    2.Education achievements
    3.Cultural achievements
    4.Environmental achievements
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.Environmental achievements
    Explanation :
    The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) established the Global 500 Roll of Honour in 1987 to recognize the environmental achievements of individuals and organizations around the world.

  9. ……………………… was the first Indian to receive the Magaysay Award
    1.Sanjiv Chaturvedi
    2.Vinod Bhave
    3.Nileema Mishra
    4.Arvind Kejriwal
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.Vinod Bhave
    Explanation :
    The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay’s example of integrity in governance, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society.

  10. ……………………..refused to accept Padma Bhushan Award
    1.Amitab Chaudhary
    2.Aruna Asaf Ali
    3.Jayprakash Narayan
    4.Khushwant Singh
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.Khushwant Singh
    Explanation :
    Khushwant Singh was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 1974 . In 1984, however he returned the award in protest against the siege of the Golden Temple by the Indian Army (Operation Blue star). In 2007, the Indian government awarded Singh the Padma Vibhushan.