Current Affairs PDF

Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen wins 2020 Peace Prize of the German Book Trade

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Peace Prize of the German Book TradeOn June 20, 2020, Indian economist, philosopher and Nobel Laureate Amartya Kumar Sen (86) has been selected for 2020 Peace Prize by the Board of Trustees of the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade for his decades-long work around issues of global justice.

  • He will be presented with the award by German Publishers’ and Booksellers’ Association, Borsenverein in a ceremony that will take place on October 18, 2020, in Paulskirche (Germany) & will be broadcast live on German public television.

About Amartya Sen :

-Born on 3 November 1933 in Santiniketan (West Bengal), Professor Amartya Sen, who teaches at Harvard University in the US, has also been awarded the Nobel Prize in 1998 for Economics.

-He spent his childhood in the shadow of the ongoing independence movements in India in the 1940s. A witness to the Bengal famine in 1943 and the bloody conflict and riots between Hindu-Muslims at the time of India’s independence in 1947,

-Sen obtained a bachelor’s degree in economics from the Presidency College in Kolkata in 1959. Sen gave the concept of public welfare economics and wrote many books on many aspects of social welfare and development.

Peace Prize of the German Book Trade :

  • Every year since 1950, the German Book Trade Peace Prize has been given. In addition to the title, the winner is also given a cash prize of €25,000 euros ($28,000). 
  • Its goal is to honor those individuals who, with their outstanding work in the fields of literature, science and art, make a big contribution in making the ideas of peace come true. 
  • In 2019, the award was presented to famous Brazilian photographer and photo journalist Sebastiao Ribeiro Salgado. Prior to this, the award has also been given to famous Canadian writer Margaret Atwood in 2017.

About Germany:
Capital– Berlin
Currency– Euro
President– Frank-Walter Steinmeier