Current Affairs PDF

World Hydrographic Day 2020: June 21 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

World-Hydrographic-Day-2020-June-21World Hydrographic Day is observed annually on June 21 to highlight the importance of hydrography & its relevance in our lives. The day aims to increase the coverage of hydrographic information on a global basis, and urges all States to work with the International Hydrographic Organization(IHO) to promote safe navigation.

  • Theme of World Hydrographic Day 2020: ‘Hydrography Enabling Autonomous Technologies’.
  • IHO initiated the idea of the day in 2005. The UN’s General Assembly passed the resolution, A/60/30 on ‘Oceans and the law of the sea’ in support of the idea.

Idea behind the theme

To provide a wide range of opportunities to promote hydrographic works and services offered by the National Hydrographic Offices, industry partners, expert contributors and the scientific community.

Significance of World Hydrographic Day 2020

i.World Hydrographic Day 2020 focuses on the key role hydrography plays in support of autonomous technologies including aerial, surface and underwater survey drones & autonomous ships.

ii.Organisations are called upon to forward any materials they create in support of their WHD 2020 celebrations to the Secretariat. These materials will be posted on the IHO online communication outlets. 


  • 1st World Hydrography Day is celebrated on 2006
  • The foundation day of IHO was marked as World Hydrography Day.

What is Hydrography?

Hydrography is the science that measures and describes the physical features of the navigable portion of the Earth’s surface and adjoining coastal areas. It is also important for economic developments, defence and security, scientific research, and environmental protection.

About IHO:

The International Hydrographic Bureau (IHB) was established in 1921. The name of the organisation was changed to the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) in 1970. 

Member States– 93
Headquarters– Monaco 
Secretary General– Mathias Jonas(Germany)