Current Affairs PDF

GK Questions: Honours & Awards – Set 8

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Hello Aspirants.

Welcome to Online General Knowledge section in Affairs cloud, which is important for all the competitive exams. We have created Some questions related to Basic GK(Honours & Awards) !!!

  1. Who among the following has been honoured with the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award for 2016 ?
    3.Manoj Kumar
    4.Shashi Kapoor
    5.None of these
    Answer – 3.Manoj Kumar
    Explanation :
    Veteran Bollywood star Manoj Kumar, best known for his patriotic films Purab Aur Paschim, Upkar and Kranti, was chosen for the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke award, the highest official recognition in Indian cinema
    Shashi Kapoor – 2015

  2. Mewar Award is given by which state ?
    1.Madhya Pradesh
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.Rajasthan
    Explanation :
    The Maharana Mewar Award is a State Award. This award has been instituted to honour work of permanent value to those who consider it their duty, like the Diwan of Shri Eklingji still do, to benefit society through services in the field of education, literature, social services, philanthropy and character building activities.

  3. Who among the following is a winner of the Indira Gandhi Award for National integration in 2014 ?
    1.Balraj Puri
    3.M. S. Swaminathan
    4.Rajagopal P. V.
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.Rajagopal P. V.
    Explanation :
    The Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration is a prestigious award accorded by the Indian National Congress, after former Prime Minister of India Indira Gandhi. This Award is given annually starting from 1985 to distinguished persons/institutions for promoting national integration and understanding and fellowship amongst religious groups, communities, ethnic groups, cultures, languages and traditions of India and the strengthening, through thought and action of the nation’s sense of solidarity.

  4. Who won the ‘Green Oscar’ Award for the year 2015 ?
    1.Pramod Patil
    2.Ashwika Kapur
    3.Mike Pandey
    4.Ananda Kumar
    5.Both 1 and 4
    Answer – 5.Both 1 and 4
    Explanation :
    Pune-based ornithologist Pramod Patil and Ananda Kumar have won with the prestigious Whitley Award, popularly known as the ‘Green Oscar’ for his work on the conservation of the Great Indian Bustard .

  5. ………………………… is Asia’s highest honor
    1.Jawaharlal Nehru Award
    2.Padma Bhusan Award
    3.Oscar Award
    4.Ramon Magsaysay Award
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.Ramon Magsaysay Award
    Explanation :
    Established in 1957, the Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honor and is widely regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.  It celebrates the memory and leadership example of the third Philippine president after whom the award is named, and is given every year to individuals or organizations in Asia who manifest the same selfless service and transformative influence that ruled the life of the late and beloved Filipino leader.

  6. Robert Mugabe awarded with China’s Confucius Peace Prize 2015.He belongs to which country ?
    1.New Zealand
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.Zimbabwe
    Explanation :
    Zimbabwe’s controversial president, Robert Mugabe, has been awarded China’s Confucius Peace Prize, despite widespread accusations of war crimes and human rights violations. The 91-year-old is Africa’s oldest leader and has been in power for almost three decades.

  7. Anshu Gupta received the Asia’s coveted Ramon Magsaysay Award.He was the founder of …………………………
    1.Smile Foundation
    2.Lepra Society
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.Goonj
    Explanation :
    Whistleblower bureaucrat Sanjeev Chaturvedi and human rights activist Anshu Gupta are among five persons from India, Laos, Myanmar, and the Philippines who will receive Asia’s coveted Ramon Magsaysay Award.
    Anshu Gupta, the founder of NGO Goonj

  8. Who has been selected for a Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2015?
    1.Satya Nadella
    3.Namita Roy
    4.Narendra R Kumar
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.Satya Nadella
    Explanation :
    Satya Nadella, CEO of Microsoft, has been selected for a Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award.

  9. Who was honoured with the third Yash Chopra Memorial Award for the year 2016?
    1.Amitabh Bachchan
    2.Salma Khan
    3.Aishwarya Rai
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.Rekha
    Explanation :
    Veteran Bollywood actress Rekha was honoured with the third Yash Chopra Memorial Award in Mumbai.

  10. Who has been conferred with India’s the highest literary honour, the Jnanpith Award for 2015 ?
    1.Rajendra Shah
    2.Bhalchandra Nemade
    3.Raghuveer Chaudhari
    4.Amar Kant
    5.None of these
    Answer – 3.Raghuveer Chaudhari
    Explanation :
    Gujarati writer Raghuveer Chaudhari has been conferred with India’s the highest literary honour, the Jnanpith Award for 2015.Chaudhari, whose most noted works include novels ‘Amruta’ and ‘Uparvas,’ has become the 56th writer and fourth Gujarati literary artist to receive the prestigious award.