Current Affairs PDF

FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 – Overview

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

17th edition of FIFA U-17 World Cup took place in India from 6th – 28th October 2017. FIFA U-17 is a biennial international football tournament of men’s under-17 national teams organised by Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

England Crowned Champions After Stunning Comeback Vs Spain

  • England has won the FIFA U-17 World Cup
  • In the final match, England defeated Spain by 5-2.
  • The final match was held on October 28, 2017 in Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan/Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

Phil Foden and Rhian Brewster lead Under-17 World Cup awards

Phil Foden of England has been adjudged tournament’s best player and has been awarded ‘Golden Ball’.FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 - Overview

  • Another Player from England, Rhian Brewster who scored the most goals in the tournament (8 goals) has been awarded ‘Golden Shoe’.
  • Gabriel Brazao the goalkeeper of Brazil’s national football team has won the ‘Golden Glove’.

India’s first match: Amarjit Singh and Co lose 3-0 to Americans

India’s first match in FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 was against USA.

  • The match was played at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi on October 6, 2017.
  • Indian team under Captain Amarjit Singh lost the match to Americans by 3-0.

USA-Based Namit Deshpande becomes the First NRI to Play for India’s U17 World Cup Team

Namit Deshpande, from Maryland, USA, created history by becoming the first Non Resident Indian (NRI) to represent India in an International football match across any age group.

  • In the FIFA U-17 world Cup 2017, Central defender Namit Deshpande was a part of the Indian U-17 football team in a match against Colombia on October 9, 2017.
  • Namit Deshpande had sent his clipping to All India Football Federation (AIFF) and was selected on basis of his skills.

Jeakson Singh creates history by scoring India’s first ever goal in FIFA World Cup

Jeakson Singh created history when he scored India’s first goal in the FIFA Under-17 World Cup 2017 during a match against Colombia on October 9, 2017.

  • Jeakson is a defensive midfielder. He is the cousin of Amarjit Singh, the Captain of India U-17 Football national team.
  • He hails from Manipur and has trained for several years in Chandigarh at the Chandigarh Football Academy (CFA).

FIFA U-17 WC in India becomes most attended in event’s history

17th edition of the FIFA U-17 World Cup which took place in India from 6th -28th October, 2017, became the most attended in the history of the event.

  • Total attendance at all matches played in this tournament reached 1347133 surpassing the earlier 1230976 attendance recorded at the 1st edition which took place in China in 1985.
  • 2011 edition in Mexico attracted a total of 1002314 spectators and is the third one which was attended by more than one million spectators.

Other Important Facts related to FIFA U-17 World Cup:

The official Mascotfor the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017, clouded leopard named ‘Kheleo’ was revealed on February 10, 2017 in New Delhi at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. The clouded leopard is a rare and vulnerable wild cat which can be found in the Himalayan foothills.

  • The official ball for Under-17 football World Cupis called ‘Krasava’, a word generally used by Russian sports fans to describe a striking performance. The ball is manufactured by ‘Adidas’ and the pattern on it features a striking red design with jagged lines running through it.
  • Switzerland’s Esther Staubli became the first female football referee to officiate a match at the FIFA U-17 World Cup. She was the referee for the match between Japan and New Caledonia in the final round group E match on October 14, 2017 at Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 – Venues

Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan/Salt lake StadiumKolkata, West Bengal
Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium/Fatorda StadiumMargao, Goa
DY Patil StadiumNavi Mumbai, Maharashtra
Indira Gandhi Athletic StadiumGuwahati, Assam
Jawaharlal Nehru International StadiumKochi, Kerala
Jawaharlal Nehru StadiumNew Delhi