Current Affairs PDF

72nd session of United Nations General Assembly

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On 12th to 25th September 2017, the 72nd Regular Session of UN (United Nations) General Assembly (UNGA 72) was held at UN Headquarters, in New York.
72nd session of UN General Assembly:
i.The President of the 72nd session of the UNGA is Mr.Miroslav Lajcak.
ii.On 19th September 2017, a general debate on the theme ‘Focusing on People: Striving for Peace and a Decent Life for All on a Sustainable Planet’ was conducted.
iii.On 23rd September 2017, External Affairs Minister of India Ms.Sushma Swaraj addressed the 72nd session of United Nations General Assembly.

50 nations signed UN Nuclear Ban Treaty:
i.On 20th September 2017, 50 countries signed a treaty to ban nuclear weapons. Brazil was the first country to sign the treaty.
ii.The countries that have signed the treaty would be banned from developing, testing, producing, manufacturing, acquiring, possessing or stockpiling nuclear weapons ‘under any circumstances.’
iii.More than 120 countries approved the new nuclear weapons ban treaty.Whereas, the U.S., Britain and France said that the ban wouldn’t work and would end up disarming their nations while the nations that did not sign the treaty would strengthen up.

Meeting of BRICS Ministers of Foreign Affairs for International Relations in New York:
i.On 21st September 2017, BRICS Ministers of Foreign Affairs for International Relations held their annual meeting.
ii.The meeting was led by Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of South Africa Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.The Ministers appreciated China for having successfully conducted the 9th BRICS Summit from 4th – 5th September 2017 in Xiamen, China.
iii.They confirmed to implement the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
iv.They strong condemned terrorism in all forms.They also discussed about the 10th BRICS Summit.

About UN (United Nations):
Headquarters – New York
Secretary‑General – Mr.Antonio Guterres
General Assembly President – Mr.Miroslav Lajcak