Current Affairs PDF

World NGO Day 2022 – February 27

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

World NGO Day - February 27 2022World Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) Day is annually observed across the globe on 27th February. World NGO Day is dedicated to recognise, celebrate, and honour all non-governmental and nonprofit organizations that contribute to society. 27th February 2022 marks the observance of the 9th edition of World NGO Day.

The universal concept of World NGO Day is to ‘Celebrate, Commemorate and Collaborate’ the NGOs across the globe. 


i.The World NGO Day was initiated by Marcis Liors Skadmanis, a United Kingdom (UK)-based social entrepreneur, in 2009. 

ii.In 2010, World NGO Day was proposed by the Civil Alliance – Latvia at the IX Baltic Sea NGO Forum of the Council of the Baltic Sea States(CBSS)

iii.It was recognised on 17th April 2010 by the 12 countries of the Baltic Sea NGO Forum in Vilnius, Lithuania. 

iv.Baltic Sea NGO Forum Committee commemorated World NGO Day on 23rd April 2012 during the X Baltic Sea NGO Forum at Humboldt University in Berlin, Germany.

  • The first World NGO Day was observed on 27th February 2014 by the United Nations(UN), European Union(EU), Nordic Council leaders and international organizations
  • The inaugural event was hosted by the Ministry for Foreign affairs of Finland in Helsinki, Finland. 


The Member countries of the Baltic Sea NGO Forum are Belarus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, Norway and Sweden.

What is NGO? 

Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) also referred to as Non-Profit Organisation (NPO), Civil Society Organisation (CSO), Charitable organisations, are non-profit, citizen-based groups that function without any interventions from the government.

  • The term “Non-Governmental Organization” was created in Article 71 of the Charter of the newly formed United Nations in 1945. 
  • An NGO can be any kind of organization provided that it is independent of government influence and is not-for-profit.

Council of the Baltic Sea States(CBSS):

The Council of the Baltic Sea States(CBSS) is an intergovernmental organisation guided by its 11 Member States and the European Union.

Member States of the CBSS: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden and the European Union.
2021-2022 Presidency of the CBSS – Norway.