Current Affairs PDF

Union HRD Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ presented 3rd Chhatra Vishwakarma Awards 2019; 4 MoUs inked

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On February 24, 2020, Union HRD Minister Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank presented Chhatra Vishwakarma Awards (CVA) 2019 to 23 teams under 8 sub- categories during an ocassion in New Delhi. The award function was organised by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). Apart from CVA, 6 institutes were felicitated under the Utkrisht Santhan Vishwakarma Award (USVA). This was the 3rd edition of awards. The winners are recognized for their projects on the theme of “How to enhance the income of Village”.Key Points:

-There were 6676 teams, 117 teams selected for the final and among them 23 teams got the CVA awards in 8 categories. Appreciation certificates and cash prices (Rs 51,000, Rs 31,000 & Rs 21,000) were awarded to the top three teams in each sub-category.

-A total of 188 nominations were received under USVA. After a detailed scrutiny six institutes have been felicitated during the event. Three institutes were honoured with certificates for their meritorious work in the village development while another three were recognised for best practices.

-Indian Society of Technical Education (ISTE) and Atal Innovation Mission of NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog also collaborated with AICTE for the Vishwakarma Awards 2019.

Click here to get full list of awardees.

Support to Winners:

NITI Aayog will support the shortlisted students by bringing their ideas into reality through their pre-incubation centres of ATAL Community Innovation centre (ACIC).

AICTE & MHRD (Ministry of Human Resource and Development) Innovation Cell will provide financial assistance to a few of the best teams of CVA.

IIT (Indian Institute of Technology) Delhi has also agreed to support the best technical interventions of Vishwakarma Awards through their Unnat Bharat Abhiyaan (UBA) program by providing financial support to the institution for implementing their ideas in the village.

About Vishwakarma Awards:
AICTE has been organizing Vishwakarma Awards since the year 2017.  The Awards are aimed at motivating young individuals, inspiring leaders and institutions to raise their performance in their specific domains leading to significant contribution towards the growth and development of the Nation. These are provided under CVA and USVA.

Four MoUs inked:
During the event, four MoUs were also exchanged between AICTE & IIT Kanpur, IIT Ropar, IIT Bhubaneshwar & IISER (Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research) Pune.

  • The MoUs are aimed at creating internship opportunities for the students of J&K so that they can get an exposure to the academic culture at higher learning Institutes and to inspire, empower, and enhance their employability.

Launch of digital version of AICTE Activity Book:
Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ also launched the digital version of the AICTE Activity Book which has been hosted on the web portal of AICTE. The Activity Book provides a comprehensive compilation of important initiatives and schemes being run by the Council for its stakeholders.

About All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE):
Establishment– 1945
Chairperson– Anil Sahasrabudhe
Works under– Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development
Headquarters– New Delhi