Current Affairs PDF

UGC to set up 11 Chairs in the names of women scientists across India: Smriti Irani

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On February 28, 2020 ,According to the Women and Child Development (WCD) Minister Smriti Zubin Irani11 Chairs will be set up in institutes  by UGC (University Grants Commission) across India in the names of women scientists, including eminent anthropologist Iravati Karve. The decision has been taken on ‘National Science Day’ on February 28, 2020.
Key Points:

i.The Chairs will be set up for 5 years in the Universities to honor their contribution in the field of science. It would not only be constituted to honor the contribution of women scientists in the field of science, but it would also inspire women and young women to play a greater role in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

ii.Name of the Chair & the field they associated with:



Chair to be instituted in the name of


Fields with which the Scientist was associated
1.Dr.Archana Sharma (1932-2008) Renowned cytogenetistAgriculture and Allied Research
2.Dr. Janaki Ammal (1897-1984) The Pioneering BotanistBiotechnology


3.Dr.Darshan Ranganathan

(1941-2001) Organic Chemist

4.Dr.Ashima Chatterjee (1917-2006) Chemist Par ExcellenceOrganic Chemistry, Phytomedicine


5.Dr.KadambiniGanguly (1861-1923) A doctor who broke the muthMedicine
6.Dr IrawatiKarve (1905-1970) Studying HumansSociology
7.Dr. Anna Mani (1918-2001) Pioneer Indian MeterologistMeteorology
8.Dr.Rajeshwari Chatterjee (1922-2010) First Woman engineer from the State of KarnatakaEngineering
9.Dr. Raman Parimala (b.1948) Mathematician (Bhatnagar Award, 1987)Mathematics
10.Bibhachowdhuri (1913-1991)Physics
11.Kamal Ranadive (8 November 1917-2001) (medicine)Biomedical Research


Click here to know about the chair

iii.Each chair will be given Rs 50 lakh each for a year with a total expenditure of Rs 5 crore per annum.

Ministry of Women and Child Development(WCD):
– 30 January 2006
Headquarters– New Delhi
Minister of State(MoS)- Debasree Chaudhuri