Current Affairs PDF

Step to Counter Terrorism: 34-Nation Islamic Military Coalition

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Saudi Arabia has launched Islamic Military Coalition, a new military alliance of 34 nations mainly Muslim nations to fight terrorism.

  • Joint operations headquarter is to be established in the Riyadh.
  • It is an effort to respond to Western assertions that it could do more in the fight against the Islamic State.

Saudi Arabia launched 34-nation Islamic Military Coalition to counter terrorismMember nations: Saudi Arabia, Jordan, United Arab Emirates, Pakistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Turkey, Chad, Togo, Tunisia, Djibouti, Senegal, Sudan, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Gabon, Guinea, Palestine, Comoros, Qatar, Cote d’Ivoire, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Maldives, Mali, Malaysia, Egypt, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Yemen.

About Islamic Military Coalition
It has been established in pursuance of the principles and objectives of the charter of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), which calls for member states to cooperate to combat terrorism in all its forms and manifestations.

  • The coalition includes nations with large and established armies such as Pakistan, Turkey and Egypt as well as war-torn countries such as Libya and Yemen.
  • More than 10 other Islamic countries have expressed their support for this alliance and will take the necessary measures in this regard, including Indonesia.

The move allows the conservative kingdom to cast itself as a leader in the fight against extremism.

Saudi Arabia Capital – Riyadh
Saudi Arabia Currency – Saudi riyal
Saudi Arabia King – Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud