Current Affairs PDF

PM Narenrdra Modi reconstituted NITI Aayog

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On June 6, 2019, Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi approved the reconstitution of government’s policy think tank, National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog. It is scheduled to meet on June 15 for the first time after the Modi government won a second term. Now, the Chairperson of NITI Aayog will be the Prime Minister.

NITI Aayog1Key points:

  • Rajiv Kumar was retained as the Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog whereas economist Bibek Debroy, a full-time member, was dropped from the team.
  • V K Saraswat, Ramesh Chand, and Dr V K Paul will continue as the full-time members of NITI Aayog.
  • Home Affairs Minister Amit Shah was appointed as one of the ex-officio members of the NITI Aayog, along with Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Agriculture and Rural Development Minister Narendra Singh Tomar.
  • Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot, Railways Minister Piyush Goyal, and MoS (Independent Charge) for Statistics and Programme Implementation Rao Inderjit Singh were named as special invitees.
  • The name of Amitabh Kant, who was the NITI Aayog CEO during the first term of Modi government, was dropped out from the list.
  • The council comprises of all chief ministers, lieutenant governors of union territories, several union ministers and senior government officials.
  • The fifth meeting of NITI Aayog’s Governing Council, scheduled to be held on June 15, 2019, will discuss various issues concerning water management, agriculture and security.

About NITI Aayog:
NITI Aayog is the premier policy think tank of the central government and it provides both directional and policy inputs to the government. The policy think tank was set up in 2015, replacing the planning commission.