Current Affairs PDF

Odisha launched special Programme to prevent spread of malaria

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Odisha Government will soon launch “Durgama Anchalare Malaria Nirakaran” (DAMON), a special programme to prevent the spread of malaria in remote areas of Ganjam district.
More Information about Odisha’s Durgama Anchalare Malaria Nirakaran:

  • The health officials have identified over 135 remote villages under the jurisdiction of five community health centres as malaria prone areas.
  • The community health centres that have been identified are Patrapur, Adapada, Badagada, Dharakote and Gallery.
  • Under this programme, camps will be held in these remote areas for mass test for malaria. As many as 103 camps will be held in the next three months. Around 15,000 people would be covered under the programme.
  • People testing positive for malaria will be provided treatment. Besides other diseases like malnutrition among the children and complicancy among the pregnant women will also be identified in the camps and necessary treatment will be provided.
  • Among other measures, Dichlorodiphenyltrichloroethane (DDT) would be sprayed in malaria-prone villages. Long-lasting insecticidal nets (LLIN), a medicated net to beat malaria, will be distributed to the people in the areas. Special attention would be given to pregnant woman and children.
  • Ganjam District malaria officer (DMO) Uma Shankar Mishra has mentioned that in the first six months of the current year, they have tested 5353 malaria positive cases in the district and one death due to malaria was reported from Bamakoi near Digapahandi.

About Malaria:

  • Malariais a mosquito-borne infectious disease affecting humans and other animals caused by parasitic protozoans belonging to the Plasmodium type.
  • Fever, feeling tired, vomiting, and headaches are common symptoms of Malaria.
  • Malaria is most commonly transmitted by an infected female Anopheles

Quick Facts about Odisha:
Capital: Bhubaneswar
Current Chief Minister: Naveen Patnaik
Current Governor: S C Jamir