Current Affairs PDF

News Broadcasters Federation elected Republic TV’s Arnab Goswami as board’s President

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On December 8, 2019 the editor-in-chief and Managing Director(MD) of Republic TV, Arnab Goswami was elected as the President of governing board News Broadcasters Federation (NBF). The new self-regulatory organization in order to bring in transparent self-regulation on content will be announced by the end of January 2020.Republic TV's Arnab Goswami as governing board President1st secretary general: The NBF board members elected R. Jai Krishna, a former journalist and public policy specialist in the media sector, as the first Secretary-General and Executive Director of NBF.

Key Points:

i.Vice presidents: The board also elected 4 new vice presidents. They are Jagi Mangat Panda, co-founder of Ortel Communications; Shankar Bala of Fourth Dimension Media; Sanjive Narain, Chairman and MD of Prag News, and Kartikeya Sharma of ITV Network.

ii.New Members: NBF members also finalised members of three issue-specific committees Public Policy, Distribution, and Finance by electing through a mode of consensus.

iii.Founding members: some of the founding members of the NBF include Republic Media Network (Republic TV and Republic Bharat), Puthiyathalaimurai (Tamil Nadu), Newslive and Northeast Live (Assam and Northeast), First India News (Rajasthan), Kolkata TV (West Bengal), Polimer News (Tamil Nadu), CVR News (Andhra Pradesh and Telangana), etc.

About National Broadcasters Federation(NBF):
Formation- July 2019.
Fact- The NBF is a body of 78 news channels in 14 languages, representing broadcasters from 25 States. It is the largest-ever federation of news channels in India, representing both national and regional news broadcasters, by bringing together 50 news channels.