Current Affairs PDF

Indian Musician Shobha Sekhar receives “the Medal of the Order of Australia”

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Shoba shekarIndian Musician Shobha Sekhar, the founder of Kalakruthi a music organisation in Australia receives the Medal of the Order of Australia(OAM) in the Queen’s Birthday 2020 for her service to Indian music and dance.

About Shobha Sekhar:

i.Shobha Sekhar is a management graduate and an artist based in Montreal

ii.she works as a lecturer at the University of Melbourne.

iii.She was trained by DKP, DK Jayaraman and K V Narayanaswamy.

iv.She started the Kalakruthi in 1994 affiliated with The Music Academy, Chennai and has been training many aspirants of Carnatic music.

v.She had conducted several concerts in Australia and all around the world.

vi.She had contributed to many charity initiatives and conducted music and dance programmes to raise funds for the victims of the Victoria Bushfire.

The Medal of the Order of Australia:

i.The medal of the order of Australia is awarded to the individuals contributing to their community or to Australia globally or domestically.

ii.The recipients are nominated and assessed independently as worthy of recognition.

Other Indian Origin Recipient of Medal of the Order of Australia:

  • Lakshman Prasad Alluri, vice president of the Mandir and member of ACT and NSW hindu temples is awarded for service to the Indian Community of the Australian capital territory through adopting city and volunteering at Floriade etc.,
  • Rama Rao, scientist, philanthropist and artist, is awarded for service to indian music and dance by establishing Krishna Ravali School of Carnatic music in 1984 and performed and organised music and Bharatanatyam performances in Australia.
  • Sivaganga Sahathevan, is awarded for the service to the indian community of Victoria and to music through raising funds for Girls from OZ, contribution to charities and arranging performance of Carnati music events.
  • Professor Ranjeny Thomas, chair of Rheumatology, Translational Research Institute since 2013 and Diamantina Institute since 2003 for service to medical education and research and to rheumatology.
  • Arumugam Alagappa Arumugam for significant service to medicine, to psychiatric health care, and to professional groups.
  • Dr Mulavana Santhadevi Parvathy, for service to medicine, and to medical education

About Australia:

Governor General– David Hurley
Prime Minister– Scott Morrison
Currency– Australian dollar
Capital– Canberra