Current Affairs PDF

ICC awards 2019: Smriti Mandhana named in ICC Women’s ODI & T20 teams of the year

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On December 17, 2019 the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the ICC awards 2019. It is a set of sports awards for cricket recognising and honoring the best international cricket players of the previous 12 months.  Indian women’s cricket player Smriti Mandana was named in both ICC women’s ODI (One Day International) and T20 (twenty twenty) teams of the year. The awards in brief are as follows:Mandhana in ICC women's ODI

  • Indians in T20 team of the year: Others Indians in the list include Deepti Sharma and Radha Yadav.
  • Indians in  ODI team of the year: Other Indians included in the ODI team of the year are Shikha Pandey, Jhulan Goswami and Poonam Yadav.

T20 and ODI team:

i.T20: The T20 team of the year other than Indians include Alyssa Healy(Australia), Danielle Wyatt (England), Meg Lanning(Australia), Lizelle Lee (South Africa), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Nida Dar (Pakistan), Megan Schutt, (Australia) and Shabnim Ismail (South Africa).

ii.ODI: ODI team of the year other than Indians includes Alyssa Healy(Australia), Tamsin Beaumont(England), Meg Lanning(Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Jess Jonassen(Australia) and Megan Schutt (Australia).


S.No Award Awardees  Country 
1 Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award Ellyse Perry Australia.
2 ODI cricketer of the year Ellyse Perry Australia.
3 T20 Cricketer of the Year Alyssa Healy Australia.
4 Emerging Cricketer of the Year Chanida Sutthiruang Thailand.
5 ODI skipper of the year Meg Lanning Australia.
6 T20 Skipper of the year Meg Lanning Australia.
7  Women’s ODI Team of the Year Indians: Smrithi Mandana, Shikha Pandey, Jhulan Goswami and Poonam Yadav.
8 Womens’ T20 Team of the year Indians: Smrithi Mandana, Deepti Sharma and Radha Yadav.

ICC Awards:
The awards were given by ICC since 2004. Between 2011 and 2014 the awards were known, for sponsorship reasons, as the LG ICC Awards.

About International Cricket Council (ICC):
Founded- 15 June 1909.
Headquarters- Dubai, United Arab Emirates(UAE).
Chairperson- Shashank Manohar.
Chief Executive Officer(CEO)- Manu Sawhney.