Current Affairs PDF

Centre Sanctions Additional Rs 1,691 crore For Road Construction in J&K, Uttarakhand

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Govt approves additional Rs 1,691 cr for highwayOn June 28, 2020, In a major development, the central Government has sanctioned an additional Rs 1,691 crore for the construction of highways by the Border Roads Organization (BRO) in Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) and Uttarakhand during 2020-21 in the wake of clashes with China in Ladakh.

  • Of this amount, Rs 1,351.10 crore has been allocated for the construction of BRO roads in the border areas of J&K. While, Rs 340 crore have been sanctioned for road-building in Uttarakhand.

Additional Assistance:
    -In addition to these, an additional Rs 71 crore has been allocated for road works in Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Sikkim and Tamil Nadu under the State Public Works Department.
    -It has been said in the dialogue that the limit of approval for Nagaland under Tribal Sub-Plan (TSP) has been increased from 1,081 crore to 1,955 crore.

Key Points:

i.The current sanction for national highways work for state PWDs (Public Works Department) was Rs 2,269 crore, which has been increased to Rs 2,340 crore. In addition, Rs 1,691 crore ceiling was approved for BRO, taking the additional ceiling of Rs 4,081 crore for national highways in these areas.

ii.The approval comes after National Highways and Infrastructure Development Corporation Limited (NHIDCL) which is working on building, maintenance and upgradation of national highways and strategic roads had announced an increase in remuneration of its personnel working in tough terrains.

About Border Roads Organisation (BRO):
Headquarter– New Delhi
Director General- Lt. Gen.Harpal Singh

About Jammu and Kashmir (union territory):
Capitals– Jammu (Winter), Srinagar (Summer)
Lieutenant Governor– Girish Chandra Murmu
Folk dances– Rauf, Hikat, Mandjas, Kud Dandi Nach, Damali

About Uttarakhand:
Capital– Dehradun (winter capital), Gairsain (summer capital).
Chief Minister (CM)- Trivendra Singh Rawat
Governor– Baby Rani Maurya.