Current Affairs PDF

Micheál Martin Elected as the New Prime Minister of Ireland; Succeeds Leo Varadkar

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Micheál-Martin-elected-as-Ireland’s-new-prime-ministerOn 28th June 2020, the voting at the special meeting of the Irish Parliament (the Dáil) at the Convention Centre, Dublin, Fianna Fail leader Micheál Martin was elected as the new (Taoiseach) Prime Minister of Ireland and he will take over the office from Leo Varadkar.The results were announced by the speaker of the lower house, Sean O Fearghail.

Micheál Martin, will lead the government for the first two and a half years (until December 2022); the second half of the 5 year team will be led by Leo Varadkar, Indian Origin & Leader of Fine Gael.


Due to COVID-19 situations to follow the social distancing rule the vote took place at the Convention Centre instead of Leinster House.

Ireland Parliament Election 2020:

i.He won the election with 93 votes out of 159 in his favour.

ii.Micheál Martin will lead the three-party coalition of Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Green Party.

iii.This is the first time for Fianna Fail and Fine Gael to become governing partners. Martin appointed the new cabinet with shared roles among the three parties.

iv.Leo Varadkar, was made Tánaiste (deputy PM) and Minister of Enterprise,Trade and Employment.

v.The Leader of Green Party, Eamon Ryan is appointed as the Minister of Transport, Energy and climate action.

vi.The Irish Natinalist party, Sinn Féin, will be the opposition party in the Ireland’s parliament.

Micheál Martin:

i.Micheál Martin was a member of the Irish parliament’s lower house for more than 30 years.

ii.He served as the Cabinet minister between 1997 to 2011 in the government of Fianna Fáil.

iii.He was the first national government minister to impose a workplace smoking ban including smoking in pubs during his term as health minister in 2004.

iv.Micheál Martin, the native of Cork, was the leader of the Fianna Fáil party from 2011.

About Ireland:
Capital– Dublin 
President– Michael D. Higgins
Prime Minister(Taoiseach)– Micheál Martin
Currency– Euro