Current Affairs PDF

24th NCeG 2020-21: Adopted Hyderabad Declaration on e-Governance; Presented NAeG 2020-21 Awards

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

24th National Conference on e-Governance 2021

The 24th National Conference on e-Governance (NCeG) 2020-21, which was organised by the Department of Administrative Reforms & Public Grievances (DARPG), Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology (MeitY), in association with the State Government of Telangana, was held on 7and 8 January 2022 at Hyderabad, Telangana.

  • Theme – The theme of this Conference is ‘India’s Techade: Digital Governance in a Post Pandemic World’.
  • The Conference was inaugurated by the Jitendra Singh, Union Minister of State of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions and presided by K. T. Rama Rao, Cabinet Minister for Municipal Administration and Urban Development, Industries, Information Technology Electronics and Communications, Government of Telangana.

National Awards for e-Governance (NAeG) 2020-21:

i.The NAeG 2020-21 were conferred during the conference, 26 awards were presented under the 6 categories of the Award Scheme to Central Ministries/Departments, State/UT Governments, Districts, Local Bodies, Public Sector Undertakings and Academic & Research Institutions.  The awards include 12 Gold, 13 Silver and 1 Jury Award.

ii.The national award for e-governance golden award was conferred to eCourts Mission Mode Project of Department of Justice in the Law Ministry under the category of ‘Excellence in governance in government process re-engineering for digital transformation’.

iii.Chhattisgarh’s state labour department was conferred with the golden award for e-Shramik Seva under the ‘Universalizing Access including e-Services’. Rs 2lakh has been given as award money.

Note –  NAeG are presented every year for exemplary implementation of e-Governance initiatives to recognize and promote excellence in implementation of e-Governance initiatives.

Hyderabad Declaration:

‘Hyderabad Declaration’ on e-Governance was adopted in the two-day conference for collaboration between the Government of India and State Governments.

i.Transform citizen services through the use of technology by leveraging the artifacts of India Stack that include Aadhaar, UPI (Unified Payments Interface), DigiLocker, UMANG (Unified Mobile Application for New-age Governance), e Sign and consent framework.

ii.Fast track the implementation of the national-level public digital platforms in key social sectors viz. Health, Education, Agriculture, etc.

iii.Operationalize the data governance framework to facilitate data sharing within Government entities as also make available all data on except for a negative list.

iv.Adopt NeSDA (National eGovernance Service Delivery Assessment) 2021 in collaboration with MeITY for improving the e-Governance landscape.

v.Integration of all State/District portals with CPGRAMS (Centralized Public Grievance Redress and Monitoring System) for seamless Redressal of Public Grievances.

  • CPGRAMS helped redress 20 lakh public grievances in 2021.

vi.Replication of awarded projects under National Awards for e-Governance 2020 – 21 and their nomination for dissemination of best practices through Regional conferences

vii.Adoption of e-office version 7.0 in all ministries and departments.

Other Events: An Exhibition including a Wall of Fame organised to showcase India’s achievements in the field of e-Governance. Discussions were held on six sub-themes and parallel breakout sessions also held on different themes to exchange views between the Award winners and Unicorns.

Recent Related News:

According to the report of 6th edition, Public Affairs Index (PAI 2021) by the  Public Affairs Centre (PAC), a Bengaluru- based non-profit think tank, the top three slots have been taken by Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Telangana among 18 large states.

About Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology (MeitY):

Union Minister – Ashwini Vaishnaw (Constituency – Rajya Sabha Odisha)
Minister of State – Rajeev Chandrasekhar (Constituency -Rajya Sabha Karnataka)