Current Affairs PDF

Tennis – Overview of Wimbledon Championships 2021

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

134th edition of Wimbledon Championships 2021The 134th Edition (127th staging of the Ladies’ Singles Championship event, the 53rd in the Open Era) of Wimbledon Championships 2021 was held at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club, London, UK from 28th June – 11th July, 2021.

  • It is one of the 4 Grand Slam tennis tournaments (others being Australian Open, French Open and the US Open) and takes place in Grass court.
  • It has been held since 1877. The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club (AELTC) & International Tennis Federation (ITF) organized the tournament.
  • The 2020 Wimbledon Championships were cancelled due to COVID-19 (1st cancellation of the Tournament since World War II).

Novak Djokovic wins 6th Wimbledon Title & Overall 20th Grand Slam Title

Novak Djokovic (Serbia) defeated Matteo Berrettini (Italy) to win the Men’s Singles Title of Wimbledon. It is Djokovic’s 6th Wimbledon Title (3rd consecutive one) & 20th Grand Slam Title.

  •  With 20 Grand Slam Titles, he has equalled the men’s record for most Grand Slams won by a man, which is jointly held by Roger Federer (Switzerland) and Rafael Nadal (Spain).
  • Djokovic is the only man since Australia’s Rod Laver (1969) to win the first 3 major Grand Slams (Australian Open, French Open & Wimbledon) of a season in a single year.
  • Djokovic’s 1st Wimbledon Title came in 2011. He won his 1st Grand Slam Title at the Australian Open in 2008.
  • Marija Cicak (Croatia) who officiated the final became the 1st female chair umpire for a Men’s final.

Wimbledon titleAshleigh Barty wins Women’s Single Title of Wimbledon 2021

Ashleigh Barty (Australia) defeated Karolina Pliskova (Czech Republic) to win the Women’s Single Title of Wimbledon. This is her maiden Wimbledon Title and became the 1st Australian Woman to win the Wimbledon Title after Evonne Goolagong Cawley (1980).

  • This is Barty’s 2nd Grand Slam Title after the victory at French Open in 2019.

Nikola Mektic & Mate Pavic win Men’s Doubles Title

Croatian Pair of Nikola Mektic & Mate Pavic defeated Marcel Granollers (Spain) & Horacio Zeballos (Argentina) to win the Men’s Doubles Title of Wimbledon.

  • With this, they became the 1st Croatian Pair to win a Grand Slam men’s doubles title.

Elise Mertens, Hsieh Su-wei win Women’s Doubles Title

Elise Mertens (Belgium) & Hsieh Su-wei (Chinese Taipei) defeated Russian pair of Veronika Kudermetova and Elena Vesnina to win the Women’s Doubles Title of Wimbledon.

Neal Skupski & Desirae Krawczyk win Mixed Doubles Title

Neal Skupski (UK) & Desirae Krawczyk (US) defeated Joe Salisbury (UK) & Harriet Dart (UK) to win the Mixed Doubles Title of Wimbledon.

Indian-origin Samir Banerjee wins Boys Singles Title at Wimbledon

India-origin Samir Banerjee who represents US defeated Victor Lilov (US) to win the Boys Singles Title of Wimbledon 2021. He is the 1st American Junior Champion at Wimbledon since Reilly Opelka in 2015.

  • Till now, 4 Indian players have won Junior Grand Slam Titles – Yuki Bhambri (2009 Australian Open), Leander Paes (Wimbledon 1990 and US Open 1991), Ramesh Krishnan (French Open and Wimbledon 1979) and Ramanathan Krishnan (Wimbledon 1954).

Men’s SinglesNovak Djokovic


Matteo Berrettini


Women’s SinglesAshleigh Barty (Australia)Karolina Pliskova

(Czech Republic)

Men’s DoublesNikola Mektic & Mate Pavic

(Croatian Pair)

 Marcel Granollers (Spain) & Horacio Zeballos (Argentina)
Women’s DoublesElise Mertens (Belgium) & Hsieh Su-wei (Chinese Taipei)Veronika Kudermetova & Elena Vesnina

(Russian Pair)

Mixed DoublesNeal Skupski (UK) & Desirae Krawczyk (US)Joe Salisbury & Harriet Dart (UK Pair)

About All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club (AELTC)

Chairman – I.L Hewitt
Location – London, UK

About International Tennis Federation (ITF)

President –  David Haggerty
Headquarters – London, UK