Current Affairs PDF

Overview of 14th Asian Shooting Championships 2019 held in Doha, Qatar from November 5 -13 2019

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 2019 Asian Shooting Championships , organized by Asian Shooting Confederation (ASC) was the 14th edition held at Lusail Shooting Complex, Doha, Qatar from November 5 – 13, 2019. China secured the top spot in medal tally with 45 medals (20 Gold,20 Silver,5 Bronze),while India holds 4th position with 26 Medals (5 gold, 10 Silver, 11 Bronze).14th Asian Shooting GamesThe list of Indian gold medal winners at the tournament is as follows,

S.NoCategoryPlayer NameEventMedal
1Men’s categoryUdhayveer Sidhu

Vijayveer Sidhu

Gurpreet Singh

25 m standard pistol teamGold
2Angad Vir Singh BajwaSkeetGold
3Women’s categoryManu Bhaker10 m air pistolGold
4Anjum Moudgil

Kajal Saini

Tejaswini Sawant

50 m rifle prone teamGold
5MixedAbhishek Verma

Manu Bhaker

10 m air pistol teamGold

Key Highlights:
Shooter Manu Bhaker (17) from Haryana has won a gold medal in the 10m air pistol game by finishing first in the final with a score of 244.3. She gave India the 1st gold medal at the Championship.

ii.Angad Vir Singh Bajwa holds the distinction of being the 1st Indian shooter to win a skeet gold medal at any continental or world event.

iii.Abhishek Verma & Manu Bhaker pair bagged gold medal in the mixed 10m air pistol team event.In women’s 50 m rifle prone team event ,Anjum Moudgil,Kajal Saini,Kajal Saini won a Gold  with a combined score of 1864.8.

iv.In men’s 25 m standard pistol team event ,Udhayveer Sidhu,Vijayveer Sidhu,Gurpreet Singh together wins gold with a total score of 1710.

About Asian Shooting Championships:
Began in the year 1967, these championships, including almost all ISSF (International Shooting Sport Federation) shooting events, are held every four years.
It was last held in 2015 in Kuwait City, Kuwait from November 1–12, 2015.