Current Affairs PDF

Nicholas C. Coops, Joseph J. Landsberg and Richard H. Waring shares the Marcus Wallenberg Prize 2020 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Professors Nicholas C. Coops of the University of British Columbia(UBC), Vancouver, Canada,  Richard H. Waring of Oregon State University, United States of America(USA) & Joseph J. Landsberg of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization(CSIRO) Australia shares the ‘Marcus Wallenberg Prize(MWP) 2020’ or ‘the Nobel Prize for forest sector’ for 3-PG (Physiological Principles Predicting Growth), a model to predict forest growth in a changing climate.marcus wallenberg prize 2020

  • The prize 2020 will be presented by King Carl Gustaf XVI of Sweden during a ceremony in Stockholm, Sweden & the prize money is 2 million Kronor

Gist about  3-PG

i.The 3-PG model was developed by Richard H. Waring & Joseph J. Landsberg in 1997 to predict forest growth under changing environmental conditions and the ability of forests to store carbon. It also helps to calculate how actions, such as thinning and fertilisation, affect forest growth and development.

ii.Nicholas C. Coops added satellite imagery analysis by taking advantage of remote sensing & GIS (Geographical Information System)  to make these predictions on a much larger scale.

iii.With the addition, it can be used to calculate how diversity of the forest landscape can be developed over time, and assess the risk of outbreaks of insects and large forest fires in inaccessible forest areas.

iv.The model is now one of the world’s most widely used models for assessing forest growth over large areas. Before satellite imaging, it was applicable to forest plots & after it was used to make predictions on a global scale.

About the MWP:

It was instituted by Stora Kopparbergs Bergslags AB at its annual meeting in 1980 to commemorate the services rendered by Dr Marcus Wallenberg during his long term as member and chairman of the Board of Directors.

The purpose of the Prize- to recognize, encourage and stimulate path breaking scientific achievements which contribute significantly to broadening knowledge and to technical development within the fields of importance to forestry and forest industries.