Current Affairs PDF

New Zealand Cancels the 2021 APEC’s Auckland Summit & Opts to Virtual Summit 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

New Zealand cancels 2021 APEC summitOn 30th June 2020, New Zealand cancelled the 2021 Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum that was scheduled to be held in Auckland, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and is opting to lead a virtual summit.


The 2019 leaders’ meeting was cancelled by Chile due to violent anti-government protests and the virtual APEC meeting of 2020 are being hosted by Malaysia.

Cancellation of 2021 APEC summit:

i.Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand, Winston Peters announced that for planning and security reasons the 2021 APEC summit is cancelled and the summit will be hosted as a virtual event.

ii.New Zealand has closed its borders of every nation except for the returning citizens and residents.

Members of APEC:

Member Countries – 21 Countries

Canada, United States of America, Peru, Mexico, Chile, Republic of Korea, Japan, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong(China), The Philippines, Brunei Darussalam, Papua New Guinea, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Russia, People’s Republic of China, Viet Nam, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore

About APEC:
APEC focuses on trade issues.
Executive Director– Dr Rebecca Fatima Sta Maria
Headquarters– Singapore
Established– 1989