Current Affairs PDF

New Building of IARI, Jharkhand named after Dr.Shyama Prasad Mukherjee

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

IARI Jharkhand''s new buildingOn 6th July 2020, The new administrative and academic building of the Indian Agricultural research Institute (IARI),at Gouria Karma in Hazaribagh, Jharkhand is named after Dr.Shyama Prasad Mukherjee the founder of Bharatiya Jan Sangh, on the event of his birth anniversary.

Key People:

Narendra Singh Tomar , Union Minister of Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj, Parshottam Rupala and Kailash Choudhary, Union Ministers of State for Agriculture, Dr. Trilochan Mohapatra, Director General of Indian Council of Agricultural Research(ICAR) and Dr. Ashok Kumar Singh, Director of IARI participated in the inauguration over a virtual platform.

Contribution of IARI in Agri sector:

i.IARI, New Delhi (Pusa Institute) played a major role in the nation’s self-sufficiency in foodgrains production.

ii.Pusa Institute contributed to the agricultural development in the region of Punjab, Haryana and UP.

iii.To support the development in the sector, Prime Minister Narendra Modi established two agricultural research institutes in Jharkhand and Assam.

Key Points:

i.In the 2020-2021 Budget, The government has allocated Rs.2.83 lakh crores(highest allocation ever) for activities related to agriculture, irrigation and rural development.

ii.The 16 point action plan announced in the budget is targeted to double the income of the farmers by the end of 2022.

iii.For the development of rural and agriculture sector, new schemes under Atma Nirbhar Bharat Abhiyaan like the Rs.1 lakh crore infrastructure fund for the agricultural sector and the growth packages for fisheries, animal husbandry, herbal farming, beekeeping etc. were announced.

iv.Union Minister of Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare, Narendra Singh Tomar stated the Jharkhand and North-Eastern states have unlimited possibilities for bringing about a second green revolution.

Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare:
Union Minister– Narendra Singh Tomar 
Ministers of State– Parshottam Rupala and Kailash Choudhary

About Indian Council of Agricultural Research(ICAR):
President of the ICAR Society– Narendra Singh Tomar
Director General– Dr. Trilochan Mohapatra
Headquarters– New Delhi