Current Affairs PDF

National Sports Day observed on 29th August, 2019

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On August 29,2019, National Sports Day was observed across the country to create awareness about sports in public. August 29, 2019 marks the 114th birth anniversary of India’s hockey legend, Major Dhyan Chand.National Sports Day 2019

About Dhyan Chand:

  • He was the key member of Indian hockey team which earned 3 Olympic gold medals in Hockey games i.e in 1928 (Amsterdam, Netherlands), 1932 (Los Angeles, United States) and 1936 (Berlin, Germany).
  • He was honored with Padma Bhushan by the Government of India (GoI) in the year 1956 for his great contribution to the field of Indian Hockey.

Modi launches nation-wide ‘Fit India’ Movement

  • On August 29, 2019, Prime Minister (PM) Shri Narendra Modi has launched a nation-wide ‘Fit India’ Movement on the occasion of National Sports Day in New Delhi.
  • He urged the people to head the Fit India campaign &stated that this initiative is the need of the hour & will take India towards a healthier future by preventing lifestyle diseases such as diabetes, hypertension.
  • He also congratulated all sportspersons on the occasion of National Sports Day.

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2018 Announced

  • The Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards, the highest national awards for adventure sports was announced by the Government on August 27, 2019.
  • The award is in 4 category which includes land, water, air adventure &lifetime achievements.
  • Totally 6 awardees were felicitated by the  President of India Ramnath Kovind along with other Sports Awardees at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on 29th August 2019.

The list of awardees who felicitated by the  President are as follows,

Sl. NoNameCategory
1Ms. Aparna KumarLand Adventure
2Late Shri Dipankar GhoshLand Adventure
3Shri Manikandan K.Land Adventure
4Shri Prabhat Raju KoliWater Adventure
5Shri RameshwerJangraAir Adventure
6Shri Wangchuk SherpaLife Time Achievement

President Ramnath Kovind gave away National Sports Awards 2019
On August 29,2019, President of India Ramnath Kovind gave away the national sports awards in New Delhi.
The full list of National Sports Awards 2019 winners is as follows

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award:

S.No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1.Sh. Bajrang PuniaWrestling
2.Ms. Deepa Malik(The first Paralympian to receive the prestigious honour.)Para Athletics

About Khel Ratna Award: This award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of 4 years. Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh.Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Arjuna Award: It was awarded to 19 sportspersons for 2019.

S.No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1.Sh. Tajinderpal Singh ToorAthletics
2.Mohammed Anas YahiyaAthletics
3.Sh. S. BhaskaranBody Building
4.Ms. Sonia LatherBoxing
5.Sh. Ravindra JadejaCricket
6.Sh. Chinglensana Singh KangujamHockey
7.Sh. Ajay ThakurKabaddi
8.Sh. Gaurav Singh GillMotor Sports
9.Sh. Pramod BhagatPara Sports (Badminton)
10.Ms. Anjum MoudgilShooting
11.Sh. Harmeet Rajul DesaiTable Tennis
12.Ms. Pooja DhandaWrestling
13.Sh. Fouaad MirzaEquestrian
14.Sh. Gurpreet Singh SandhuFootball
15.Ms. Poonam YadavCricket
16.Ms. Swapna BarmanAthletics
17.Sh. Sundar Singh GurjarPara Sports  (Athletics)
18.Sh. Bhamidipati Sai PraneethBadminton
19.Sh. Simran Singh ShergillPolo

About Arjuna Award: This award is given for consistently outstanding performance for 4 years. It is India’s second-highest sporting award after Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Arjuna Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.

Dronacharya Award (regular category): 

S.No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
1.Sh. Vimal KumarBadminton
2.Sh. Sandeep GuptaTable tennis
3.Sh. Mohinder Singh DhillonAthletics

Dronacharya Award (lifetime category):

S.No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
1.Sh. Merzban PatelHockey
2.Sh. Rambir Singh KhokharKabaddi
3.Sh. Sanjay BhardwajCricket

About Dronacharya Award: It is meant for coaches. It is given for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events. Dronacharya Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.

Dhyan Chand Award:

 1Sh. Manuel FredricksHockey
 2Sh. Arup BasakTable Tennis
 3Sh. Manoj KumarWrestling
 4Sh. NittenKirrtaneTennis
 5Sh. C. LalremsangaArchery

About Dhyan Chand Award: This award is given for lifetime contribution to sports development. Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (Maka) Trophy, 2019 – Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.
Panjab University, Chandigarh

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar –A trophy and citation is given to the entity in the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2019.

S. No.CategoryEntity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2019
1.Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent’(i) Gagan Narang Sports Promotion Foundation

(ii) GoSports Foundation

2.Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility
3.‘Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measures’
4.Sports for Development


Rayalaseema Development Trust

State Governments Celebrations:
AP Sports Minister flags off awareness rally
On August 29,2019, The Arunachal Pradesh Sports Minister Mama Natung flagged off an awareness rally from Civil Secretariat to Sange Laden Sports Academy in Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh.

MP celebrates Major Dhyanchand’s birthday as Sports Day
On August 29, 2019,
The Madhya Pradesh state Government has celebrated the all-time greatest player of Hockey ‘The Wizard’ Major Dhyanchand’s birthday in the entire state as Sports Day.

Meghalaya CM launches ‘walk to work’ campaign
On August 29, 2019, The  Chief Minister of Meghalaya, Conrad K Sangma has took the lead to launch the campaign of Fit India Movement by walking two-kilometer from his residential quarters to his office chamber at Main Secretariat.