Current Affairs PDF

List of Space Centres and Units in India – Updated on June 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Hello Readers & Aspirants,

India has Many Space Research Centres and Units in different States. It is important for the aspirants to know all the Space Centres and Units in India to crack the upcoming competitive exams like SSC, RRB, Bank, UPSC, etc. The below table consists of names of the Space Centres and Location. We have provided you the complete updated list of  Space Centres and Units in India. We hope, it will help you in Competitive exams.

List of Space Centres and Units in India

Why Indian Space Research centres:

  • For design and development of launch vehicles and related technologies for providing access to space.
  • Design and development of satellites and related technologies for earth observation, communication, navigation, meteorology and space science.
  • Space based Applications for Societal development.
  • Research and Development in space science and planetary exploration.

Space Centres and Units in India

Location Space Centre
New Delhi1. DOS branch secretariate
2. ISRO branch office
3. Delhi earth station
Dehradun1. Indian Institue of remote sensing (IIRS)
2. Centre for Space Science and Technology Education in Asia-Pacific (CSSTEAP)
Lucknow1. ISTRAC ground station
Shillong1. North Eastern Space Application Centre (NE -SAC)
Hyderabad1. NRSC – National Remote Sensing Centre
Tirupati1. NARL – National Atmospheric Research Laboratory
Sriharikota1. Satish Dhawan Space Centre
Port Blair1. Down Range Station
Mahendra Giri1. ISRO Propulsion Complex (IPRC)
Thiruvananthapuram1. Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre
2. Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre
3. ISRO Interial Systems Unit
4. Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST)
Hassan1. Master Control Facility
Banglore1. Space commission
3. INSAT programme office
4. NNRMS secretriate- National Natural Resources Management System
5. ANTRIX corporation
6. ISTRAC-ISRO Telemetry&Tracking and Command Network
7. ISRO satellite centre
8. Liquid propulsaion systems centre
9. U R Rao Satellite Centre (URSC)
10. Laboratory for Electro-Optical Systems (LEOS)
11. Southern RRSC
12. Human Space Flight Centre (HSFC)
13. New Space India Limited (NSIL)
Mumbai1. ISRO Liasion office
Nagapur1. Central RRSC-Regional Remote Sensing Centre
Mount Abu1. Infrared Observatory
Ahmedabad1. Space Application Centre (SAC)
2. Physical Research Laboratory (PRL)
3. Development & Educational Communication Unit (DECU)
Jodhpur1. Western RRSC-Regional Remote Sensing Centre
Udaipur1. Solar Observatory
Byalalu1. Indian Deep Space Network (IDSN)
2. Indian Space Science Data Centre (ISSDC)
Aluva1. Ammonium Perchlorate Experimental Plant
Chandigarh1. Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL)
Kolkata1. Eastern RRSC
Bhopal1. Master Control Facility-B (MCF)