Current Affairs PDF

KK Venugopal Reappointed as Attorney General of India for a Year & Tushar Mehta as Solicitor General for 3 Years

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Tushar-Mehta-re-named-Solicitor-General-for-three-years,-KK-Venugopal-Attorney-General-for-a-yearThe Appointments Committee of the Union Cabinet has approved the re-appointment of senior advocate K.K. Venugopal as Attorney General of India for a year, whose 3 year tenure ends on June 30, 2020 and senior advocate Tushar Mehta as Solicitor General for a period of three years. K.K. Venugopal succeeded Mukul Rohatgi on June 30, 2017. He is the 15th Attorney General of India. 

  • The appointments & reappointments are effective from July 1, 2020.

Other Cabinet approvals

The following are the appointments & reappointments of Additional Solicitors General(ASG)  in Supreme and High Court(HC).

Supreme Court

i.Re Appointed: Vikramjit Banerjee, Aman Lekhi, Madhavi Divan, K.M. Nataraj and Sanjay Jain 

ii.Appointed: Balbir Singh, Suryaprakash V. Raju, A.N. Venkataraman, Jayant K. Sud, Aishwarya Bhati and Rupinder Singh Suri.

High Court

i.Re appointed: Anil Singh(Bombay HC) and Satya Pal Jain( Haryana HC)

ii.Appointed: Yezdezard Jehangir Dastoor- Calcutta HC, Chetan Sharma- Delhi HC, R. Sankaranarayanan- Madras HC, Dr. Krishna Nandan Singh- Patna HC  and Devang Girish Vyas- Gujarat HC

Tenure– The appointments and reappointments of ASG will have tenure of 3 years.

Note: Senior advocate Pinky Anand and A.N.S. Nadkarni was dropped as Additional Solicitors General(ASG).

About Appointment Committee:

Members of the committee– Prime Minister(PM) of India, Narendra Modi (who is the Chairman) and the Union Home Affairs minister, Amit Shah