Current Affairs PDF

Jnanpith Award conferred upon Gujarati writer Raghuveer Chaudhary

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Eminent Gujarati novelist, poet and critic Raghuveer Chaudhary (77) has been chosen for the 51st Jnanpith Award for 2015 for his contribution to Indian literature.

  • Chaudhary is the 4th Gujarati writer to receive this prestigious award after Uma Shankar Joshi (1967), Pannalal Patel (1985) and Rajendra Shah (2001).

Jnanpith Award conferred upon Gujarati writer Raghuveer ChaudharyAbout Raghuveer Chaudhary
1938 born started his career writing novels and poetry. He authored more than 80 books. During 1965 to 1970 he won numerous prizes awarded annually by the State of Gujarat.

  • He has worked as a columnist for numerous newspapers such as Sandesh, Janmabhumi, Nirikshaka and Divya Bhaskar.
  • He was a teacher at the Gujarat University until his retirement in 1998.
  • In 1977, he received the Sahitya Akademi Award for his novel trilogy Uparvas & also conferred with Munshi award in the same year.
  • In 1975, he received the Ranjitram Suvarna Chandrak for creative writing.

His popular novels: Amrita, Venu Vatsala, Purvarang, Laagni Samjyaa Vinaa Chuuta Padvanu and others

About Jnanpith Award
Instituted in 1961, it is one of the two most prestigious literary honours in the country. Eligibility is restricted to any Indian citizen who writes in one of the 22 languages listed in Schedule Eight of the Indian constitution. It is presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith, a trust founded by the Sahu Jain family.

  • The Jnanpith selection board comprised of eminent writer and critic Prof Namwar Singh, Prof Shamim Hanfi, Harish Trivedi, Prof Suranjan Das, Ramakant Rath, Chandrakant Patil, Prof. Alok Rai, Dinesh Misra and Leeladhar Mandloi.