Current Affairs PDF

Jitendra Singh Launched Restructured Scheme for PM’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration 2020 and Web Portal  Virtually

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh launches the revamped SchemeOn July 17, 2020 Jitendra Singh,Minister of State for Prime Minister’s Office(PMO), Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space launched the restructured scheme for PM’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration 2020 and the web portal ( through video conference.

Purpose of restructuring– To recognize the performance of District Collectors towards economic development of the District.

About the scheme:

The Government of India has instituted a scheme, “The Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration” in 2006. The Scheme was restructured in 2014 for recognizing the performance of District Collectors in Priority Programs, Innovations and Aspirational Districts. 

About Restructured Scheme in 2020:

i.This year, for the very first time, the PM’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration seeks to recognize the efforts of District level officials involved in the Namami Gange Programme.  This is an exemplary recognition for the initiatives being taken up under the Namami Gange Mission. Under this award category, one award shall be given to a district out of the 57 notified District Ganga Committees under the Namami Gange Programme.

ii.The restructure of the scheme for the year 2020 is to recognize the contribution of civil servants in strengthening of:

  • Inclusive Development through Credit Flow to the Priority Sector
  • Promoting people’s movements – “Jan Bhagidari” through Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban and Gramin) in the District
  • Improving Service Delivery and Redressal of Public Grievance

Award Categories- There are 4 major categories namely; District Performance Indicators Programme, Innovation General Category, Aspirational Districts Program and Namami Gange Program.

Total Awards– In total 15 awards will be given under the scheme in 2020.

Distribution of the award– The award will be conferred by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Rashtriya Ekta Diwas -October 31, 2020 at the Statue of Unity, Kevadia, Gujarat. 

Period of consideration– The period of consideration for the awards is from april 1, 2018 to march 31, 2020.

Online applications– The online applications are invited from 17th July till 15th August 2020 through the mentioned portal from Districts / Implementing Units / Organizations under the various categories in the prescribed format.

Key People– In addition to Jitendra singh,  K.Shivaji,  Secretary of Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances(DARPG) and  Department of Pension & Pensioners Welfare(DPPW), V.Srinivas, Additional Secretary DARPG among others participated in the launch.

Recent Related News:

i.The World Health Organization(WHO) has accorded the World No Tobacco Day Award 2020 to Socio-Economic and Educational Development Society(SEEDS), an Indian NGO.

ii.Amulya Mica chosen as Most Promising Brand 2019 at 7th MSME Excellence Award in New Delhi.