Current Affairs PDF

Indian Shooters Divyansh, Elavenil and Saurabh receive Golden Target Award from ISSF

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On 8th December 2019, Indian Shooters, Divyansh Singh Panwar, from Jaipur, Rajasthan Elavenil Valarivan, from Cuddalore, Tamil Nadu and Saurabh Chaudhary, from Meerut, Uttar Pradesh received the Golden Target Award from International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) at its headquarters in Munich, Germany.Golden Target award from ISSFKey Points:

i.The occasion was assisted by Raninder Singh, President of the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI), member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and Abhinav Bindra former World and Olympic champion.

ii.Divyansh Singh Panwar, (17) won a silver medal in 10m Air rifle in the ISSF World Cup 2019, and has been qualified to represent India in the 2020 Summer Olympics to be held in Tokyo.

iii.Elavenil, (20) had won a gold in the Rio World Cup and the World Cup Final in China, she was unable to win the Olympic quota since Anjum Moudgil and Apurvi Chandela had won the quota in women’s air rifle in the World Championship 2018. She was trained by Gagan Narang, World Championship and Olympic medallist.

iv.Saurabh Chaudhary, (17) won a gold medal in the 10m Air pistol category at the Asian Games in the year 2018, and also the youngest Indian gold medalist at the Asian Games. He is the current World Record holder in the air pistol category with a score of 245.5 breaking his own previous record at the World Championship held in Changwon, Korea in the year 2018. He has also won the Olympic quota for the year 2020.

v.India has received three of the 12 awards of Golden Target Awards, while China and the United States (US) have won two each.

About International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF):
Founded- 1907
Headquarters- Munich, Germany
President- Vladimir Lisin