Current Affairs PDF

India Hosted 2021 BRICS Foreign Affairs Minister Meeting Virtually

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On June 1, 2021, India hosted the 2021 BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) Foreign Affairs Minister Meeting virtually. External Affairs Minister (EAM) of India, S Jaishankar Chaired the meeting, since India is the Chair of BRICS for the year 2021.


Brazil Minister of Foreign Affairs -Carlos Alberto Franco Franca, Russian Foreign Minister -Sergey Lavrov, Chinese Foreign Minister- Wang Yi, and South African Foreign Minister- Naledi Pandor.

Key Highlights:

This was the first time the BRICS’ foreign ministers agreed on a stand-alone joint statement on strengthening and reforming the multilateral system especially the United Nations and its principal organs like,

  • UN Security Council and General Assembly,
  • International Monetary Fund (IMF),
  • World Bank,
  • World Trade Organisation (WTO) and
  • World Health Organisation (WHO).

BRICS supports proposal by India, South Africa to temporarily waive patents on COVID-19 vaccines

BRICS supported a proposal by India and South Africa to temporarily waive patents on COVID-19 vaccines as it held extensive deliberations on effectively combating the coronavirus crisis.


In October, 2020, India and South Africa, along with 57 members of WTO proposed a waiver from certain provisions of the Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) agreement for prevention, containment, and treatment of COVID-19.

Joint Statement Issued:

To combat terrorism in all its forms and manifestations, including the cross-border movement of terrorists and vowed to step up joint efforts in building support for an India-backed Comprehensive Convention on International Terrorism (CCIT).

About BRICS:
BRICS represents 41 per cent of the global population, 24 per cent of the global GDP and 16 per cent of the global trade.
2021 Chair – India
2021 India’s Theme – ‘BRICS @ 15: Intra-BRICS Cooperation for Continuity, Consolidation and Consensus’.