Current Affairs PDF

Highlights of IPL 2021 – CSK won IPL Title for 4th Time

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Chennai Super Kings under MS Dhoni win IPL for 4th timeOn 15th October 2021, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) under the Captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni (MS Dhoni) won their 4th IPL Title, after defeating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the finals of the 14th Edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) or IPL 2021 or Vivo IPL 2021.Final was held at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, UAE.

Stadiums – M. A. Chidambaram Stadium- Chennai, Tamil Nadu; Wankhede Stadium- Mumbai, Maharashtra; Narendra Modi Stadium -Ahmedabad, Gujarat; Arun Jaitley Stadium – New Delhi, Delhi; Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai; Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi; Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah.

Team Captains – CSK was lead by MS Dhoni, India & KKR was led by Eoin Morgan (Irish-born England cricketer)

Key Points:

  • CSK previously won the 3 IPL finals in 2010, 2011, 2018 and the 2021 win is their 4th in the Tournament.
  • Stephen Fleming (New Zealand) is the Head Coach of CSK
  • Faf Du Plessis (South Africa), who played his 100th IPL game, was the top scorer for CSK in the finals. He was awarded the ‘Man of the Match’ award for his match winning 86 runs.

Orange Cap – Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK) scored a massive 635 runs in 16 matches in the 14th IPL to win the Orange Cap which is given to the most run scorer of the tournament.

Purple Cap – Harshal Patel, from Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), won the Purple Cap for picking up the most number of wickets in the current season.

  • He picked 32 wickets in 15 matches, to equal Dwayne Bravo’s (CSK) 2013 record for the most wickets in a single IPL edition.

Other Awards in IPL 2021:

Award Team/Player Prize Money
Title Winner Chennai Super Kings ₹20 crore
Runner Up Kolkata Knight Riders ₹12.50 crore
Orange Cap  

Ruturaj Gaikwad, India (635 runs)(CSK)

₹10 lakh
Emerging Player of the Season ₹10 lakh
Purple Cap  

Harshal Patel, India (32 Wickets) (RCB)

₹10 lakh
Upstox Most Valuable Player ₹10 lakh
Dream11 Game Changer of the Season ₹10 lakh
PayTm Fair Play of the Season Rajasthan Royals ₹10 lakh
Unacademy Most Sixes KL Rahul (30), India (Punjab Kings) ₹10 lakh
Safari Super Striker of the Season Shimron Hetmyer, Guyana (Delhi Capitals) ₹10 lakh
CRED Power Player of the Season Venkatesh Iyer, India (KKR) ₹10 lakh
VIVO Perfect Catch of the Season Ravi Bishnoi, India (Punjab Kings) ₹10 lakh
Man of the Match Faf du Plessis, South Africa (86 runs in Finals) ₹1 lakh

MS Dhoni becomes 1st player in the World to Captain 300 T20 games

Former Indian Captain & the present captain of CSK became the 1st player in World Cricket to Captain 300 T20 games. He is followed by Darren Sammy (West Indies) captaining 208 T20 games.

  • He has captained Indian National Team, in various international T20 games, including India’s iconic T20 World Cup Victory in 2007.
  • Overall MS Dhoni has played 347 T20 games.

Virat Kohli becomes 1st Indian Player to Score 10,000 T20 runs

During Match Number 39 in 2021 IPL, that was held between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Mumbai Indians (MI), Virat Kohli the captain of RCB became the 1st Indian cricketer to score 10,000 runs in T20 (Twenty-twenty) format. 

  • Overall he is the 5th player in the World to achieve the milestone, after Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik & David Warner.
  • Chris Gayle holds the record for the 1st & only player to score 14,000 runs in T20 format.

Rohit Sharma – 1st Player to Score 1,000 runs against One Franchise 

Mumbai Indians Captain Rohit Sharma created an unique record of scoring 1,000 runs against a single franchise. He is the first person in IPL history to score 1,000 runs against one team.

  • He attained this mark against KKR during a match, during his 33-run knock against the team.

Harshal Patel – 20th player in IPL History to take Hat-trick Wickets

During a match between RCB & MI, Harshal Patel (RCB) became the 20th player in the IPL history to take a hat-trick wicket. He is the only player to take hat-trick in the current season & the 3rd RCB player to take hat-trick wickets.

  • In the 17th over, he took the crucial wickets of Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard & Rahul Chahar in back to back deliveries.
  • Lakshmipathy Balaji (CSK) was the 1st bowler in IPL history to take hat-trick wickets.

IPL 2021 Partners:

  • Title Sponsor – VIVO
  • Official Sponsor – Upstox, Unacademy, Tata Motors and Cred
  • Umpire Sponsor – Paytm
  • Fantasy Partner – Dream11

Recent Related News:

New Zealand wins Inaugural edition of ICC World Test Championship 2021, against India at the finals held in Southampton, England

India retains Border-Gavaskar Trophy by defeating Australia in 2020-21 Test Series.

About Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI):

President – Sourav Ganguly
Secretary – Jay Shah (also the President of ‘Asian Cricket Council’)
Headquarters – Wankhede Stadium – Mumbai, Maharashtra

About IPL:

Founded – 2008
Founder – Lalit Modi
1st Title Winner – Rajasthan Royals (Captain – Shane Warne)
Most IPL Titles – Mumbai Indians (5 Titles – 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020)