Current Affairs PDF

Former Gujarat Chief Secretary appointed as Election Commissioner

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Former Chief Secretary of Gujarat, Mr Achal Kumar Jyoti, was appointed as Election Commissioner on Thursday 7th May 2015, filling one of the 2 vacancies in a three-member body.

Mr Achal Kumar Jyoti aged 62, retired from active service in January 2013 after serving in various positions which included Chairman of Kandla Port Trust, between 1999 to 2004 and as Managing Director of Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd.


  • His tenure as Election Commissioner will start from the day he assumes office as per Law Ministry notification.
  • After VS. Sampath resigned in January, HS. Brahma was elevated as CEC and after Brahma resigned 2 posts in the 3 member body remained vacant.
  • Then Nasim Zaidi took over as CEC till Thursday 7th May 2015
  • In future government will add one more EC to fill up the remaining vacancy.

Details on Election Commissioner

  • Election Commissioner is a member of Election Commission of India.
  • EC is appointed by the Indian President.
  • EC is constitutionally empowered body functioned to conduct free and fair elections to the national and state legislatures.
  • Mostly Election Commissioner belongs to Indian Civil service or ICS or Indian Adminstrative Service or IAS.
  • The term of EC is of 6 years or till the age of 65 whichever  is earlier.
  • The chief EC can only be removed from the position through Impeachment by Parliament similar to that of judge of Supreme Court
  • Other EC can be removed from their positions by President on the recommendation of the Chief EC.
  • EC was first appointed in the year 1950. There are 20 CEC appointed till now.
  • Sukumar Sen was India’s first  Chief Election Commissioner.
  • The current CEC is Nasim Zaidi.

About IAS

  • IAS was first formed in 1893.
  • It is premier administrative civil service of the Government of India.
  • The training ground of IAS is in Mussoorie, Uttarakhand.
  • General functions of IAS includes Policy Formulation, Implementation of Policy,civil administration,Advisors to Ministers, Managing Bureaucracy etc.

About ICS

  • It is also known as Civil Services of India.
  • It refers to permanant Bureaucracy of the Government of India.
  • ICS forms the backbone of the administrative machinery of India.
  • The present civil services of India are based on pattern of former Indian Civil Service of British India.
  • Values of integrity,impartiality and the merit remain the guiding principles of ICS.
  • The highest ranking in civil service category is the Cabinet Secretary or CS, an ex-officio chairman of the civil services board.
  • CS Holds 11th position in the Order of Precedence of India.
  • The present Cabinet Secretary or CS is Mr Ajith Seth.