Current Affairs PDF

European Commission, Council presidents sign Brexit agreement

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On January 24, 2020, The Presidents of European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen & the European Council, Charles Michel, have signed the Brexit deal agreed in the month of October 2019 .Key Points:

i.It will be placed before the European Parliament on 29 January,2020  for approval. Then the Diplomats from European Union (EU) member states will give written approval to the agreement on 30 January,2020. This will ensure Britain’s separation from the European Union in the prescribed manner from midnight on 31 January,2020.

ii.This will bring to an end 47 years as a member of the pan-European partnership.

iii.After Brexit,the 28 member states will come down to 27, but the withdrawal deal provides for an 11-month transition period for Britain until the end of 2020.

iv.The 27 member states include, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.

About Brexit:
It is the word coined by merging the words Britain and exit. It is the shorthand way of saying that Britain is leaving the EU.

About European  Union (EU):
– “United in Diversity”
Administrative centre– Brussels,Belgium
It is a political and economic union of 28 member states that are located primarily in Europe.

About European Commission:
– 16 January 1958
Headquarters– Brussels, Belgium

About European Council:
– Brussels, Belgium
Founded– 2009