Current Affairs PDF

Eklavya Model Residential School Teacher selected for National Award to Teachers 2020: Ministry of Education

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Eklavya Model Residential School teacher selected for National Award to Teachers 2020For the first Time, Sudha Painuli, a vice-principal of Eklavya Model Residential Schools (EMRS) which is established under the Ministry of Tribal Affairs has been selected for National Award to Teachers (NAT) 2020.

Sudha Painuli is the vice-principal of EMRS-Kalsi, Dehradun, Uttarakhand since its establishment. Sudha Painuli made it to the list of 47 outstanding teachers after a 3-stage rigorous online transparent process.

Key Notes:

i.Union Ministry of Education (formerly known as Ministry of Human Resource Development) and Department of School Education & Literacy constituted an Independent Jury at National Level to bestow the National Award to Teachers (NAT) for the year 2020. 

ii.The most unique features about her teaching consist of innovative experiments like the initiative of Eklavya Birthday Garden, Theatre in Education, Eklavya Tribal Museum, Skill Development Workshops.

iii.Sudha Painuli has instituted the efforts of the Ministry of Tribal Affairs to create a fine balance between academic education and all-round development of tribal students.

iv.Other Teachers whose works were recognized were Jyoti Arora of Delhi, Manoj Kumar Lakhra from Haryana, Nardev Singh from Himachal Pradesh, Rajinder Kumar from Faridkot in Punjab and Chemmalar Shanmugam of Bengaluru.

v.The Independent Jury reviewed a list of 153 teachers, shortlisted by all the 36 State and UT Selection Committees and 7 Organisation Selection Committees through Video Conferencing. Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ approved the names. 


i.EMRS was started in the year 1997-98 to impart quality education to Scheduled Tribe (ST) children in remote areas. 

ii.It was started to provide them opportunities in high and professional educational courses and get employment in various sectors. 

iii.According to the data from 2011 census, there are 564 remote sub-districts, in which an EMRS is in 102 sub-districts.

iv.Under the revised 2018 EMRS Scheme, every block with more than 50% ST population and at least 20, 000 tribal persons will have an EMRS by the year 2022.

v.EMRS will be on par with Navodaya Vidyalayas and will have special facilities for preserving local art and culture, and will provide training for sports and skill development.

vi.Around 462 new EMRS are planned to be established by the year 2022.


Conditions for Eligibility of Teachers for consideration for the Awards

i.School teachers and Head of Schools working in recognized schools under 

  • Schools run by the State Government, Union Territory(UT), Local bodies, and schools aided by State Government and UT Administration. 
  • Schools run by the Central Government (Kendriya Vidyalaya, Jawahar Navodaya Vidayalas, Schools run by Ministry of Defence (MoD), Schools run by Atomic Energy Education Society (AEES) and EMRS run by Ministry of Tribal Affairs).
  • Schools affiliated to Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) and Council for Indian Schools Certificate Examination (CISCE)

ii.Teacher/Headmasters should not have indulged in tuitions.

iii.Educational Administrators, Inspectors of Education, and staff of Training Institutes are not eligible.

iv.Contractual Teachers and Shiksha Mitras are not eligible.

About Ministry of Education:
Union Minister – Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’
Headquarters – New Delhi

About Ministry of Tribal Affairs:
Union Minister – Arjun Munda
Minister of State (MoS) – Renuka Singh Saruta