Current Affairs PDF

‘Dushanbe Declaration’ adopted during 21st Summit of SCO Council of Heads of State 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

21st Meeting of SCO Council of Heads of StateOn 17th September 2021, Prime Minister Narendra Modi virtually participated in the 21st Meeting of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) that was held for the first time through hybrid format from Dushanbe, Tajikistan. During the meeting, SCO member countries adopted the ‘Dushanbe Declaration’ to promote counter terrorism & stability in Afghanistan.

  • External Affairs Minister, S. Jaishankar represented India in the meeting at Tajikistan, which was chaired by Tajikistan President – H.E. Emomali Rahmon.

Highlights of PM Modi’s address:

i.PM discussed the problems caused by extremism in Afghanistan in the SCO region, and suggested promoting of moderation & scientific thoughts among Afghan youths.

ii.India announced to share digital technologies through open-source solutions for the development of Afghan & SCO members.

iii.The PM also suggested the importance of connectivity projects in the region for peaceful development.

iv.He also participated in the Outreach session on Afghanistan between SCO and the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO) after the SCO Summit.

Outline of ‘Dushanbe Declaration’:

  • SCO member states expressed support for Afghanistan as an  independent, neutral, united, democratic and peaceful state, free of terrorism, war and drugs.
  • To support an inclusive government in Afghanistan with representation from all ethnic groups & minorities.
  • Enhancing joint efforts to prevent terror financing & suppressing its spread across the globe.
  • Promotion of culture & heritage among people, to develop a tourism environment among SCO member countries.

Recent Related News:

In July 2021, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh participated in the annual Defence Ministers Meeting of SCO, that was held in Dushanbe, Tajikistan.

About Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO):

Secretary-General – Vladimir Norov
Headquarters – Beijing, China
Chairship of 2021 – Tajikistan
Members – 8 (India, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan)