Current Affairs PDF

BWF World Championships 2018

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

From 30th July to 5th August 2018, BWF World Championships 2018 also known as TOTAL BWF World Championships 2018 was held at Nanjing Youth Olympic Games Sports Park in Nanjing, China.

2018_BWF_World_ChampionshipsKey Points:

  • Mascot: was named “Yu Bao”. Its head resembled a badminton shuttlecock and the figure was holding a rocket in hand.
  • Emblem: was a personified shuttlecock. It featured Nanjing’s “City Wall” on its headband.
  • Motto: Sports of Inspiration, City of sensation.
  • This was the 24th edition of BWF World Championships. 359 athletes from various countries participated and 251 games were conducted.


  • India’s PV Sindhu won silver medal in Women’s Singles event. Spain’s Carolina Marin defeated PV Sindhu 21-19, 21-10 in the women’s singles finals and won the gold medal.
  • This is Carolina Marin’s third World Championship title. Earlier, PV Sindhu had won three medals consisting of two bronze and one silver at the world level.
  • Kento Momota became the first Japanese man to win badminton singles world title.

Winners of the BWF World Championships 2018:

EventGold medalSilver medal
Men’s SinglesKento Momota (Japan)Shi Yuqi (China)
Women’s SinglesCarolina Marin (Spain)P V Sindhu (India)
Men’s DoublesLi Junhui (China), Liu Yuchen (China)Takeshi Kamura (Japan), Keigo Sonoda (Japan)
Women’s SinglesMayu Matsumoto (Japan), Wakana Nagahara (Japan)Yuki Fukushima (Japan), Sayaka Hirota (Japan)
Mixed DoublesZheng Siwei (China), Huang Yaqiong (China)Wang Yilü (China), Huang Dongping (China)

Indian Team Performance:

  • Saina Nehwal became the first woman to reach the quarter-finals of BWF World Championships for 8 consecutive times.
  • Saina Nehwal was defeated by Spain’s Carolina Marin 21-6, 21-11 in the quarter-finals.
  • S Verma and Prannoy K were ousted in the second round of men’s singles.
  • B. S Praneeth reached till the quarter finals and Kidambi Srikanth was ousted in the third round of men’s singles.
  • M Attri and B. R Reddy pair and S Rankireddy and C Shetty pair were ousted in the second round of men’s doubles.
  • Arjun M.R. and R Shlok pair and T Kona and S Sharma pair were knocked out in the first round of men’s doubles.
  • S Ghorpade & P Sawant, M Jakkampudi & P S. Ram, K Garg & N B Hazarika pairs were knocked out in the first round of the women’s doubles.
  • Ashwini Ponnappa and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy lost 17-21 10-21 to Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong of China in quarter finals of Mixed doubles.
  • P Chopra & N. S Reddy, S Sharma & A Parikh, R Kapoor & K Garg pairs were knocked out in the second round of mixed doubles.

Medal Statistics:

  • China topped the medals tally with 8 medals (2 gold, 2 silver and 4 bronze). It was followed by Japan in second position with 6 medals (2 gold, 2 silver, 2 bronze).
  • Spain came third with 1 gold medal and India secured fourth position with 1 silver medal.

About BWF (Badminton World Federation):
♦ President – Poul-Erik Høyer
♦ Headquarters – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia