Current Affairs PDF

Bihar Assembly Elections – Grand victory for Grand Alliance

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

In the recent Bihar Assembly elections, the Grand Alliance of Nitish Kumar surpassed the BJP led NDA (National Democratic Alliance) in all regions of Bihar with vote share of 41.9% and become the Chief Minister of Bihar for the third time. NDA had its vote share at 34.2%.

Final tally
Grand alliance – 178
NDA – 58
Others – 7

Bihar Assembly Elections - Grand victory for Grand AllianceParties competed for CM seat
Narendra Modi led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Lalu Prasad Yadav led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)
Nitish Kumar led Janata Dal (United)

About Nitish Kumar
1951 born served as Chief Minister of Bihar from 24 November 2005 – 24 November 2010 as 31st CM of Bihar and from 26 November 2010 – 17 May 2014 as 32nd of Bihar.

  • Nickname – Munna
  • Biographies – Single Man: The Life and Times of Nitish Kumar of Bihar authored by Sankarshan Thakur & Nitish Kumar and The Rise of Bihar authored by Arun Sinha
  • Awards and Recognitions

2013 – JP Memorial Award and Nagpur’s Manav Mandir
2012 – Ranked 77th in prestigious Foreign Policy Magazine top 100 global thinkers
2010 – Forbes “India’s Person of the Year”
2009 – Polio Eradication Championship Award by Rotary Internationals

Important announcements

  • Nitish Kumar is likely to take oath as new CM of Bihar on November 20. This would be the fifth time that Kumar would take oath as chief minister (earlier in 2000, 2005, 2010, Feb 2015).
  • Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs has announced the Winter Session of the Parliament during the meeting in Parliament house chaired by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.
  • Winter session is scheduled from November 26 to December 23.