Current Affairs PDF

Asian Boxing Championship 2019

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Asian Boxing Championship 2019 was held in Huamark Indoor Stadium in Bangkok, Thailand. This was the first time women and men boxing championship held together. This event was organized by International Boxing Association or AIBA.

Asian Boxing Championship 2019A total 304 athletes including 112 women and 192 men participated in the event. There were 34 countries participated in the tournament. India finished with 13 medals that include 2 gold medals, 4 silver medals and 7 bronze medals.

Indian Athlete’s in Asian Boxing Championship 2019


Boxer Amit Panghal won gold medal in 52-kg category

  • A 23- year old Amit Panghal from Haryana, defeated Korea’s Kim Inkyu in 52-kg category. This was the first gold medal at Asian Boxing Championship 2019.
  • Amit played aggressively and won the gold medal after defeating Inkyu by 5-0. This was Amit’s second medal in Asian Boxing Championship, last time he won bronze medal in 2017.

Boxer Pooja Rani won gold medal in 81-kg category

  • A 28-year old Pooja Rani defeated world champion Wang Lina from China in the 81-kg category. This was the second gold medal at Asian Boxing Championship 2019.
  • Pooja won first gold medal after moving from 75-kg to 81-kg category. She defeated Chinese Wang Lina by 4-1 in an enthralling contest. This was third medal in Asian Boxing Championship after a silver in 2012 and bronze in 2015. This was also India’s first ever gold medal in the 81-kg category from this elite Asian Boxing Championship tournament.

Medals won by Indian Athletes

S. No.        Category             Name  Medal
1.         52-kg    Amit PanghalGold
2.         81-kg     Pooja RaniGold
3.        64-kg    Simranjit KaurSilver
4.        56-kg Kavinder Singh BishtSilver
5.        49-kg     Deepak SinghSilver
6.        75-kg  Ashish ChaudharySilver
7.        51-kg      Nikhat ZareenBronze
8.        54-kg      Manisha MounBronze
9.        57-kg      Sonia ChahalBronze
10.         60-kg        Sarita DeviBronze
11.         60-kg        Shiva ThapaBronze
12.         69-kg           AshishBronze
13.        +91-kg        Satish KumarBronze

About AIBA
♦ Headquarter: Lausanne, Switzerland
♦ Interim President: Dr.Mohamed Moustahsane