Current Affairs PDF

Anurag Thakur becomes youngest BCCI president gets elected unopposed after Shashank Manohar

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Anurag Thakur was unanimously elected as the youngest BCCI President and taking charge as the Most profile position in Indian Cricket Administration

Previous President: ShashankManohar
Current President: Anurag ThakurAnurag Thakur becomes youngest BCCI president

Replacement in respect of President was chosen by Senior BCCI Vice president KC Khanna headed the Special General Meeting

Selection of Current President

  • Anurag served as the Secretary of the Board, resigned and got approval from Six East Zone Units
  • Unanimously selected as the 34th President of the Cricket Board
  • Six east units – Cricket Association of Bengal, Assam CA, Tripura CA, NCC and Jharkhand SCA – had signed his nomination papers
  • East Zone’s turn to nominate the name of the presidential Candidate even though the rules required only one unit to nominate
  • Anurag has privileged to take up the position and Maharashtra Cricket Association Chief Ajay Shirkewill take up the Secretary position

About Thakur

  • Thakur is thefirst-class cricketer to turn BCCI president after Raj Singh Dungarpurin 1998-99
  • He has represented HP in Ranji Trophy game as a right-hand batsman and off break bowler in 2010-11 Season
  • Third person supported by East Zone to be elected to the post during the 2014-1017 period

JagmohanDalmiya, who was the harmony candidate after Srinivasan’s exit, died in office last year and Manohar took over in October, 2015