Current Affairs PDF

2017 Indira Gandhi Peace Prize goes to Dr Manmohan Singh

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Former Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh has been chosen for Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development for the year 2017. Dr. Manmohan Singh has been chosen for achievements during his term as Prime Minister of India between 2004 and 2014.

indira-gandhi-awardAccomplishments of Dr Manmohan Singh:

  • As per the jury, Dr. Manmohan Singh has been chosen for this award for his contributions to introduce reforms in India economy, for strengthening India’s image in world politics and for improving India’s relations with neighbouring countries.
  • Nuclear Cooperation deal with the United States and the Copenhagen Climate Change agreement are considered among the most significant accomplishments during Dr. Singh’s tenure as India’s Prime Minister during 2004-2014.
  • Manmohan Singh has also served as a governor of the Reserve Bank of India. During his term as Union Finance Minister in the P V Narasimha Rao Cabinet, he played an instrumental role in liberalising the Indian economy.
  • Singh is only the third Indian Prime Minister, after Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi, to complete two full terms in office.
  • International jury for choosing this year’s winner was chaired by former President Pranab Mukherjee.

About Indira Gandhi Peace Prize:

This award was instituted in memory of Indira Gandhi – Former Prime Minister of India.

  • It is awarded annually to honour individuals and organisations for creative efforts toward promoting international peace and development.
  • It was first awarded in year 1986.
  • Awardees are selected by a panel constituted by Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust, comprising national and international personalities.
  • Earlier recipients of the award include former Soviet statesman Mikhail Gorbachev, former American President Jimmy Carter, former Secretary General of United Nations Kofi Anna, Kenyan environmentalist Wangari Maathai and German chancellor Angela Merkel.
  • Most recent recipients are Indian Space Research Organisation (2014) and United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (2015).