Current Affairs PDF

ISRO receives 2014 Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On May 18, 2017, Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh presented the 2014 Indira Gandhi Peace Prize to the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) at a function in New Delhi. The prize was announced in the year 2014 by the jury headed by the Vice President M. Hamid Ansari.

  • The Prize was presented to AS Kiran Kumar – Chairman of ISRO, in presence of Sonia Gandhi, Chairperson of the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust (IGMT).

The prize has been awarded to ISRO in recognition of:

  • Path-breaking achievements, culminating in the Mars Orbiter Mission (Mangalyaan)
  • Remarkable contributions in strengthening international cooperation in the peaceful use of outer space
  • Pioneering role in the application of advanced technologies in promoting broad-based and sustainable social and economic development
  • Addressing basic needs of people, particularly in rural and remote areas.

About Indira Gandhi Peace Prize:

This award was instituted in memory of Indira Gandhi – Former Prime Minister of India.

  • It is awarded annually to individuals and organisations in recognition of creative efforts toward promoting international peace, development and a new international economic ISRO receives 2014 Indira Gandhi Peace Prizeorder, ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity, and enlarging the scope of freedom.
  • It was first awarded in year 1986.
  • Awardees are selected by a panel constituted by Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust.
  • Earlier recipients of the award include former Soviet statesman Mikhail Gorbachev, former American President Jimmy Carter, former Secretary General of United Nations Kofi Anna, Namibian leader Sam Nujoma, Kenyan environmentalist Wangari Maathai and German chancellor Angela Merkel.

Quick Facts about ISRO:

ISRO is the space agency of Government of India, formed with a vision to harness space technology for national development

  • Formation Year: 1969
  • Founded by: Vikram Sarabhai
  • Headquarters: Bengaluru
  • Current Chairman: A S Kiran Kumar