Current Affairs PDF

2017 French Open – Overview

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

116th edition of the French Open tennis tournament took place at Stade Roland Garros, Paris, France from 28th May 2017 to 11th June 2017.

  • Men’s Singles Winner: Rafael Nadal created tennis history by becoming the first player in the Open Era to win the same Grand Slam title 10 times in his career. He won the final match against Stan Wawrinka.
  • Women’s Singles Winner: Unseeded Jelena Ostapenko became Latvia’s first Grand Slam champion by winning French Open title in women’s singles category. She defeated Simona Halep in the finals. She also became the first unseeded woman player to win French Open since 1933.

2017 French Open – Winners:

Men’s SinglesRafael Nadal (Spain)Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland)
Women’s SinglesJelena Ostapenko (Latvia)Simona Halep (Romania)
Men’s DoublesRyan Harrison (US) & Michael Venus (New Zealand)Donald Young (US) & Santiago Gonzalez (Mexico)
Women’s DoublesBethanie Mattek-Sands (US) & Lucie Safarova (Czech Republic)Ashleigh Barty (Australia)& Casey Dellacqua (Australia)
Mixed DoublesGabriela Dabrowski (Canada) & Rohan Bopanna (India) Anna-Lena Grönefeld (Germany) & Robert Farah (Colombia)

Bopanna-Dabrowski clinch French Open mixed-doubles title

On June 8, 2017, Rohan Bopanna clinched his maiden Grand Slam title when he won the Bopanna-Dabrowski clinch French Open mixed-doubles titleFrench Open mixed doubles final with Canada’s Gabriela Dabrowski in Paris.

  • Rohan Bopanna and Canadian partner Gabriela Dabrowski won the finals of mixed doubles against German-Colombian opponents Anna-Lena Groenefeld and Robert Farah.
  • Bopanna has become fourth Indian after Leander Paes, Mahesh Bhupathi and Sania Mirza to win a Grand Slam crown.

About French Open:

The French Open (also called Roland-Garros) is a tennis tournament that is held annually since year 1891 during late May and early June in Paris, France.

  • The tournament has been named after the French aviator Roland Garros.
  • It is second of four annua lGrand Slam tournaments and the only one played on clay court.
  • For the year 2017, the total prize money pool was 36000000 Euros.