Current Affairs PDF

Ratan Thiyam conferred with META Awards

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Ratan Thiyam a veteran playwriter and a director is conferred with Lifetime achievement award 2016 at the upcoming Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards (META).
Flash points

  • Ratan Thiyam the theatre guru is going to be awarded the Lifetime achievement award at the 11th META functionMETA Award
  • He is currently the chairman of National school of drama
  • He has been given this award for creating a new language in theatre and enriching the art form in various roles as writer, director, designer, composer and choreographer

Other awardees

This award has been given to theatre greats such as Zohra Sehgal, Badal Sarkar, Khaled Chowdhury, Ebrahim Alkazi, Girish Karnad and Heisnam Kanhailal in the past

META Awards

  • META, instituted by the Mahindra Group, is one of the Indian theatre industry’s premier awards
  • The Mahindra Group, through META, aims to increase awareness and appreciation of Indian theatre, making it the only national platform for recognizing and rewarding theatre
  • The awards consist of a specially designed trophy and a cheque of 100000 rupees for the best production, 75000 rupees for best original playwright and 45000 rupees for all other award categories

Stage plays at 11th META

“The Cabinet of Dr Caligari” (English), “After Death- The Spiritual Journey” (non verbal), “Kuhaimaravasigal” (Cave tree dwellers) (Tamil), “The Balcony” (Malayalam), “Akshayambara” (Kannada), “Haoao- The Eleventh Planet” (Bengali), “07/07/07” (English, Hindi, Farsi) “Main Huun Yusuf Aur Yeh Hai Mera Bhai” (Urdu, Hindi), “Agnes of God” (English) and “A Friend’s Story” (English) are the shortlisted plays to be staged between March 5-10