Current Affairs PDF Sales

Railways to launch Operation Swarn to revamp Rajdhani, Shatabdi Trains

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

The Railway Ministry will launch “Operation Swarn” (swarn means gold in Hindi) to improve services in Rajdhani and Shatabdi Express trains. The move has come as a response to repeated complaints of deteriorated services, low quality of food and poor sanitation in these trains.

Details about ‘Operation Swarn’:

‘Operation Swarn’ will be conducted in a phased manner. Under the first phase, the Mumbai-Delhi Rajdhani Express and Mumbai-Ahmedabad Shatabdi Express have been selected for upgradation, for which the work will start from September 2017.

Railways to launch Operation Swarn to revamp Rajdhani, Shatabdi Trains

  • This operation will focus upon 10 key areas viz. punctuality, cleanliness, linen, coach interiors, toilets, catering, staff behaviour, security, entertainment, housekeeping and regular feedback.
  • Modified trains will have improved coach interiors, better furnishing and new comfortable seats.In future the coaches will also be upgraded with services like Wi-Fi, infotainment screens and coffee vending machines.
  • An amount of Rs 50 lakh will be allotted to each Rajdhani and Shatabdi train on various routes for the revamp.
  • Work under “Operation Swarn’ will be monitored by two committees.

About Rajdhani Express:

Rajdhani Express is a series of express passenger train services in India operated by Indian Railways connecting New Delhi with other important destinations (mostly capital cities of other states).

  • Trains of this series are among the fastest trains in India  and get the highest priority on the Indian railway network.
  • Rajdhani Express was introduced in 1969. The first Rajdhani Express ran between New Delhi station and Howrah station in West Bengal.

About Shatabdi Express:

Shatabdi Express trains are a series of superfast passenger trains operated by Indian Railways to connect Metro cities with other cities important for tourism, pilgrimage or business.

  • Shatabdi Express are day-trains and they return to the station of origin the same day.
  • Trains of this series get the second highest priority (after Rajdhani Express) on the Indian railway network.
  • First Shatabdi train was started in 1988. It operated from New Delhi Railway Station via Agra to Gwalior Junction.