Current Affairs PDF

President’s secretariat announces recipients of Visitor’s Awards 2019

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On September 9, 2019 the President’s secretariat announced the recipients of Visitor’s award 2019. The award will be presented by the President Shri Ram NathKovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.President’s secretariat announces recipients of Visitor’s Awards 2019

Key points
i. Award category:  The award which is constituted in 2014 to create healthy competition among central universities, is provided under four categories in research field. The award carries a citation and cash prize of Rs 2.5 Lakh. The categories are:

  • Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • Biological Sciences and
  • Technology Development.

ii. Joint award: This year(2019) the award in the field of research in Biological science is jointly awarded to Dr Partima and Prof. Asad Ullah Khan.
iii. Selection committee: President’s secretary Shri Sanjay Kothari, headed the committee along with other officials, assisted by a Sub-Committee selected people for 2019 Visitor’s award.

Award title awardeeAwarded for 
Research in Humanities, Arts and Social SciencesProf. Sibnath Deb (Department of Applied Psychology, Pondicherry University)Child protection research, especially, focus on child abuse and neglect, student’s mental health and on Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome(AIDS).
Research in Physical SciencesProf. Sanjay  (School of Physical Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi)Research in non-equilibrium statistical physics and nonlinear dynamics.
Research in Biological SciencesProf. Asad Ullah Khan (Inter-disciplinary Biotechnology Unit, Aligarh Muslim University, Uttar Pradesh)Identifying Antimicrobial resistance(AMR) of spread and control of AMR

Research in Biological Sciences

Dr Partima  (Special Centre for Nanoscience, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi)Research on nanobiosensors and nanobiointeractions during early stage cancer diagnosis by nanomaterials bases biosensing platform.
Technology DevelopmentDrShaon Ray Chaudhuri (Department of Microbiology, Tripura University, Tripura)Development of microbial biofilm reactor for of dairy wastewater conversion into biofertilizer.