Current Affairs PDF

President Ram Nath Kovind Approved Appointment of CJ of 8 High Courts & Transfer of 5 CJs

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

President Kovind clears appointment of chief justices to 8 high courtsRam Nath Kovind, President of India, has approved the appointment of the chief justices(CJ) to 8 high courts(HC) across India. He has also approved the transfer of 5 chief Justices to different high courts.

  • The appointments have been made in the exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India in consultation with the Chief Justice of India.
  • The new appointments and transfers were recommended by the Supreme court of India.

Details of the appointments:

Justice Name & Current high court Appointed as CJ to Succeeding 
Rajesh Bindal, Acting CJ of Calcutta HCAllahabad HCJustice Munishwar Nath Bhandari (Acting CJ)
Justice Prakash Shrivastava of Madhya Pradesh HCCalcutta HCJustice Rajesh Bindal (Acting CJ)
Justice Ranjit Vasantrao More of Meghalaya HCMeghalaya HCJustice Biswanath Somadder
RV Malimath, the Acting CJ of Himachal Pradesh HCMadhya Pradesh HCJustice Mohammad Rafiq
Satish Chandra Sharma, the Acting CJ of KarnatakaTelangana HCJustice Hima Kohli
Justice Aravind Kumar of Karnataka HCGujarat HCJustice R. M. Chhaya (Acting CJ)
Justice Ritu Raj Awasthi of AllahabadKarnataka HCJustice Satish Chandra Sharma
Justice Prashant Kumar Mishra of ChhattisgarhAndhra Pradesh HCJustice Arup Kumar Goswami

Details of Transfer:

Name of the CJ Transfer from Transfer to 
AA KureshiTripuraRajasthan
Indrajit MahantyRajasthanTripura
Mohammad RafiqMadhya PradeshHimachal Pradesh
Biswanath SomadderMeghalayaSikkim
Arup Kumar Goswami,Andhra PradeshChhattisgarh

Recent Related News:

The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind has appointed the Acting Chief Justice(ACJ) for the High Courts(HC) of Telangana, Sikkim & Karnataka by exercising his power conferred by Article 223 of the Constitution of India.

  • The current Chief Justice(CJ) of these high courts will be relinquished of the charge following their appointment as the Judges of the Supreme court of India.