On September 23, 2019 the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) which is called as International Federation of Association Football in English conducted the FIFA Football Awards 2019 held in Teatroalla Scala in Milan, Italy. The awards are briefed below. It was the 4th edition after the award’s revival (the award was earlier given under the name FIFA World Player of the Year which merged with France Football’s Ballon d’Or in 2010 to become the FIFA Ballon d’Or in a six-year partnership).  The first awarding ceremony held in 2016.FIFA Football Awards 2019

Lionel Messi wins Best Men’s Player of the Year for the first time
Argentinian football player Lionel Andrés Messi Cuccittini, commonly known as Lionel Messi won 2019 Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award for the first time after the award’s revival. He also recently won the European Golden Shoe for the sixth time after scoring 36 league goals in 2018/19. It is the sixth time Messi has been voted the world’s best, after wins in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Megan Rapinoe has won The Best FIFA Women’s Player award 
American soccer player Megan Rapinoe won the Best FIFA Women’s Player award 2019 for the first time. Megan led the team for second successive triumph at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup hosted by France.

Other awards:
Award for coach: 

  • Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp was awarded The Best FIFA Men’s coach for the year 2019.
  • American women’s national team Coach Jill Ellis won The Best FIFA Women’s coach for the year 2019. Her coaching led American team to win the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Award for goalkeeping: 

  • Brazilian footballer Alisson Becker was awarded the Best FIFA Men’s goalkeeper for 2019. He led the team to win the 2019 Copa America cup.
  • Dutch football player Sari van Veenendaalwon the Best FIFA Women’s goalkeeper award for 2019.Her performances throughout the tournament at France in the 2019 FIFA world cup earned her the adidas Golden Glove award.

FIFA Puskás Award: Hungarian footballer Daniel Zsori won the 2019 FIFA Puskás Award. The award is given to players irrespective of the gender for having scored the most beautiful goal of the calendar year.

FIFA fan award: The 2019 FIFA fan award was given to Silvia Grecco. Silvia was awarded for taking her blind son Nikolas to the stadium and explaining the match scenario thus developing a bond with the game.

FIFA fair play award: Marcelo Bielsa and the Leeds United squad were given the 2019 FIFA fair play award.


AwardWinner Football Club(FC) 
The Best FIFA Men’s PlayerLionel Messi (Argentina)Barcelona FC
The Best FIFA Women’s PlayerMegan Rapinoe (America)Reign FC
The Best FIFA Men’s coachJurgenKlopp (Germany)Liverpool FC
The Best FIFA Women’s coachJill Ellis (America)
Best FIFA Men’s goalkeeperAlisson Becker (Brazil)Liverpool FC
The Best FIFA Women’s goalkeeperSari van Veenendaal (Netherlands)Atlético Madrid Femenino
FIFA Puskás AwardDaniel Zsori (Hungary)Fehérvár FC
FIFA fan AwardSilvia Grecco
FIFA fair play awardMarcelo Bielsa and the Leeds United squad

About FIFA:
Founded- 21 May 1904.
Headquarters- Zürich, Switzerland.
Motto- For the Game. For the World.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here