Current Affairs PDF

Overview of 79th Annual Golden Globe Awards® 2022 held in California

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

79th edition of Golden Globe Awards announced

On 9th January 2022, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association(HFPA) announced the winners of the 79th edition of the Annual Golden Globe Awards (2022) in Beverly Hilton, Beverly Hills, California, United States of America(USA).

The 2022 awards recognized and honoured the talents of film and television (American production or co-production between the USA and foreign partner) for 2021

  • The Golden Globe awards are annually presented by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association(HFPA).

Reimagine Coalition:

During the event, Kyle Bowser, Senior Vice President of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People(NAACP) Hollywood Bureau, presented the “Reimagine Coalition,” a joint five-year initiative to increase diversity, equity, and inclusion across the global entertainment industry.


rapper Snoop Dogg and HFPA president Helen Hoehne have announced the nominations for the 2022 Golden Globe award on 13th December 2021.


i.Jane Campion won the Best Director Motion Picture for “The Power of the Dog”. She became the 3rd female director ever to win the Best Director award at the Golden Globes.

  • Barbra Streisand was the 1st female director to win the award in 1984 for Yentl and Chloé Zhao was the 2nd to win the award for Nomadland in 2021.

ii.The Power of the Dog, West Side Story, and Succession has won three awards each.

iii.Actor Will Smith won the “Best Actor-Motion Picture Drama”, his first-ever Golden Globe, for his performance in “King Richard.”

iv.Nicole Kidman has won the Best Actress – Motion Picture Drama for her performance in ‘Being the Ricardo’. This is her 5th Golden Globe Award, previously she has won the golden globe in 1996(To Die For), 2002(Moulin Rouge!), 2003(The Hours), and 2018(Big Little Lies).

v.Ariana DeBose has won the Best Supporting Actress – Motion Picture for West Side Story (2021). She won the award for recreating the part of previous Golden Globe winner Rita Moreno who played Anita in West Side Story (1961).

vi.Oh Young-soo(O Yeong Su) (South Korea) has won the Best Supporting Actor – Television for Squid Game. He became the First South Korean actor and the first actor to ever win a Golden Globe in the TV category for a non-English language show.

vii.Michaela Jaé Rodriguez won the Best Television Actress – Drama Series for Pose and became the 1st transgender actress to win a Golden Globe.

Winners of the 2022 Golden Globe Awards:

Best Picture DramaThe Power of the Dog directed by Jane Campion
Best Picture – Musical/ComedyWest Side Story (2021) directed by Steven Spielberg
Best Actress – Motion Picture DramaNicole Kidman for Being the Ricardos
Best Actor – Motion Picture DramaWill Smith for King Richard
Best Actress – Motion Picture – Musical/ComedyRachel Zegler for West Side Story (2021)
Best Actor – Motion Picture – Musical/ComedyAndrew Garfield for tick, tick…BOOM!
Best Supporting Actress – Motion PictureAriana DeBose for West Side Story (2021)
Best Supporting Actor – Motion PictureKodi Smit-Mcphee for the Power of the Dog
Best Director Motion PictureJane Campion for The Power of the Dog
Best Screenplay Motion PictureKenneth Branagh for Belfast
Best Picture – AnimatedEncanto directed by Jared Bush and Byron Howard
Best Picture – Non-English Language (formerly Foreign Language)Drive My Car(Japan)
Best Score Motion PictureHans Zimmer for Dune
Best Song Motion PictureNo Time To Die from No Time To Die

Music & Lyrics by Billie Eilish, Finneas O’Connell

Best Drama SeriesSuccession
Best Musical/Comedy SeriesHacks
Best Television Motion PictureThe Underground Railroad
Best Actress – Television Motion PictureKate Winslet for Mare of Easttown
Best Actor – Television Motion PictureMichael Keaton for Dopesick
Best Television Actress – Drama SeriesMichaela Jaé Rodriguez for Pose
Best Television Actor – Drama SeriesJeremy Strong for Succession
Best Television Actress – Musical/Comedy SeriesJean Smart for Hacks
Best Television Actor – Musical/Comedy SeriesJason Sudeikis for Ted Lasso
Best Supporting Actress – TelevisionSarah Snook for Succession
Best Supporting Actor – TelevisionOh Young-soo(O Yeong Su) for Squid Game