Current Affairs PDF

National Broadcasting Day 2021 – July 23

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The National Broadcasting Day is annually observed across India on 23rd July to commemorate the first radio broadcast aired from the Indian Broadcasting Company(IBC) on 23rd July 1927. IBC was a private radio station based in Bombay (now Mumbai).

  • The Radio Club of Bombay made the first-ever broadcast in India in June 1923.

23rd July 2021 marks the 94th anniversary of the establishment of All India Radio(AIR), which was formerly known as IBC.

All India Radio(AIR):

All India Radio(AIR) is owned by Prasar Bharti, India’s largest public broadcasting agency, which comprises the Doordarshan Television Network and AIR.


i.The British government of British took over Radio broadcasting in 1930 and established the Indian State Broadcasting Service (ISBS).

ii.In 1930 the government took over the IBC under the Department of Industries and Labour and started its operation on an experimental basis for 2 years and in 1932 the IBC facility was permanently renamed as the ISBS.

iii.Later in 1936, ISBS was renamed as ‘All India Radio (AIR)’ and in 1956 the name AKASHVANI was adopted.


i.The All India Radio has around 479 stations across India, reaching around 92% area of the country and reaches around 99.19% of the total population.

iiThe programmes of AIR are available in 23 languages and 179 dialects.

About Prasar Bharati:

Prasar Bharati is an autonomous body established under the Prasar Bharati Act of 1997.

CEO– Shashi S. Vempati
Headquarters– New Delhi
Established in 1997