Current Affairs PDF

Michelle Payne becomes first female jockey to win Melbourne Cup

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Michelle Payne, the first female rider who won the A$6.2 million ($4.44 million) Melbourne Cup in Australia’s most esteemed race. Moreover, she is  the fourth female to drive the Cup in its 155 year history.

Melbourne Cup Winners

Melbourne Cup

  • First : Michelle Payne
  • Second : French horse Max Dynamite second
  • Third : New Zealand horse Criterion third.

Frankie Dettori banned for a month and A$20,000 (£9,338) penalty imposed for careless riding on Max Dynamite.

Jamie Spencer suspended for 14 days for causing intrusion on British-trained Big Orange, who attained fifth position.

Red Cadeaux, a three-times runner-up trained by Briton Ed Dunlop, missed to finish and carried from the track for emergency surgery.

About Michelle Payne :

  • Payne won in her first race at Ballarat.She won her first Group One race, the Toorak Handicap at Caulfield Racecourse aboard Allez Wonder on 10 October 2009,
  • Payne was the third woman jockey to ride in the Caulfield Cup
  • In 2010 Payne rode Yosei to victory in the Thousand Guineas at Caulfield.

About Melbourne Cup :

  • The Melbourne Cup is one of Australia’s most prestigious Thoroughbred horse races. It is a 3,200 metre race for three-year-olds and over. It is the richest two mile handicap in the world, and one of the richest turf races.
  • Conducted annually by the Victoria Racing Club on the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria, the event starts at 3pm on the first Tuesday in November.
  • The first race was held in 1861 over two miles (3.219 km) but was shortened to 3,200 metres (1.988 mi) in 1972.